We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, bad business”
Review of 7 Monks Taproom

7 Monks Taproom
Ranked #18 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: We're a dynamic craft beer bar with an ever-evolving draft list with 46 draft options. We offer local food, local people, & a local experience. Children are welcome before 9pm. Full-service bar.
1 review
“Good beer, bad business”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Honestly I love this place, I think the selection if beer is great. I do however think they practice bad business - the door said they were open til midnight and the door was unlocked and we walked in at 10:30 and they said they were done serving for the night. Give your customers something to count on, stay open til the time you advertise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coonju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    105
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lots of Beers on Tap”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stopped in for a few brews before dinner. Great selection of beers on tap. Have a beer for every taste. Beers about $1 to $2 more than other bars in the area (typically $7 to $8 for a beer). Fairly typical food menu for a bar. Would recommend going here for beers before and after dinner and maybe order a starter but not for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank general5star1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great selection of beer”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

7 Monks has a huge selection of beer on tap! Great atmosphere with both a bar area (self service) and booths. Our table shared the steak nachos and they were delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank db1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“decent bar, but midnight close isn't”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stopped in for a beer or two but arrived around 11:30 to find that it closes at 12:00 on weeknights. bummer - only time for one quick one. Good selection, nice decor, staff seemed ok. Wish we could have enjoyed it more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restandrelax84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

All in all, I found the 7 Monks Taproom to be relatively unremarkable. I suppose that I am spoiled by living in Grand Rapids and having options like HopCat, the 3rd best beer bar in the world. However, there was nothing unacceptable about 7 Monks.

It was completely packed on a Saturday night, and we had difficulty finding a seat. There was no hostess, which meant that we had to meander the length of the building searching for a table on our own. Our server was competent and as efficient as I would expect for a completely packed house.

There was a decent select of beer, and it was priced just slightly above what I would expect craft brews to be priced compared to an establishment like HopCat. The food was unremarkable, and the pizza was rather small.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freemajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 7 Monks Taproom also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to 7 Monks Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing