We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Taps, Food and Price”
Review of 7 Monks Taproom

7 Monks Taproom
Ranked #18 of 304 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: We're a dynamic craft beer bar with an ever-evolving draft list with 46 draft options. We offer local food, local people, & a local experience. Children are welcome before 9pm. Full-service bar.
Detroit, MI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Taps, Food and Price”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great craft beer selection from MI and US breweries. Tons of taps for any palate. Food menu was awesome and burgers were cooked perfectly. Great night time hangout or for lunch and beer. Prices were a touch high, but overall solid value.

Helpful?
Thank Urban26mnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    105
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great beer choices and creative menu”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the beer. There were neat food choices and most were pretty tasty. The food won't knock your socks off but good. Fun place:)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
924 reviews
620 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“OK Meal, great beer selection”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We went to 7 Monks based on a lot of reviews, and were excited and expecting a great dining and brew experience. Our expectations may have been too high, but we left feeling like something was missing.

First, the beer selection here is simply fantastic, with a great variety(including a lot of local / Michigan beer both on tap and bottled).

The menu was limited, but we were expecting that. We were looking forward to getting a burger, and a couple of other things on the menu. All in all, the food was OK; we were expecting superb, so maybe our expectations were a bit high. The burger was unique sounding, and just "OK" as a finished product. The kobe beef sliders, though, were excellent. The kids pizza was OK, but definitely enough for each of them. Overall, the food was OK....I think, though, for the prices paid, we were expecting bigger portion sizes.

All in all, an OK experience. I would definitely return for the beer, but wouldn't necessarily rush back for another meal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I just spent 4 days in Traverse City, and arrived on Sunday, just in time for a late lunch.
We came with a list of places to try, and 7 Monks was our first spot to check out. They are known for their beers, but decent wine selection too! We had a fabulous meal, great waiter , and got to sit outside...was a winner all the way around!

Helpful?
Thank ChicgoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stopped by late one afternoon expecting to have a beer or two and then head home for dinner. We wound up staying for dinner and were pleasantly surprised.

They have a great beer selection, and the staff was knowledge to make a few recommendations. We expected standard baar food, but their house salad was fantastic, and the turkey burger was excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 30Cros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 7 Monks Taproom also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to 7 Monks Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing