We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE the view & LOVE the wine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Grand Traverse Winery

Chateau Grand Traverse Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the first family wineries in Michigan, the O'Keefe family has been producing world-class quality wines on Old Mission Peninsula since 1974. As the pioneers in growing vinifera grapes in northern Michigan, their mission is to create expressive, classic-style wines while incorporating sustainable growing practices in their 125 acres of estate vineyards plus 60 acres under contract. Chateau Grand Traverse continues to define the Michigan wine industry with their award-winning Riesling wines as well as many other styles. The winery is open daily, year-round, offering wine tasting and free wine tours.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LOVE the view & LOVE the wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This place is just stunning beyond words. The tasting table is huge so there's always space for me. The attached patio area is stunning. There are panoramic views of the vineyard, the luscious landscape, and the water. It's just a glorious place. If I had known about it at the time, I would have gotten married there without a second thought. I preferred their whites to their reds and the uncorked chardonnay had me back there twice on the same vacation. I can't wait to go back again (and that's a long way from Atlanta, Georgia!!). A must see/taste.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PurdueMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    57
    11
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
506 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“One of the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great winery, pleasant staff, no pressure tasting room. The wines are typical of the Peninsula and reasonably priced...the setting is very laid back, and the surroundings are appealing for taking your time, checking out several wines and enjoying!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank crystalclear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute gift shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived about twenty minutes after opening and the door was locked luckily an employee was behind us to open the door. The gentleman who did our wine tasting didn't seem to like many of their wines they offer. We asked which were his favorite and he came up with one, which we ended up purchasing. However I feel that since he is an employee their he should at least
pretend to like more of their wines. However their gift shop is cute. I would go back for the gift shop.

Helpful?
Thank Msmoo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting Reds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

This was our 2nd tasting stop of the day and we were very happy that we choose this winery. They give you 6 complimentary samples. The tastes were a little small, but the price was right. We tried a few different red blends that were very good and had complex flavors that were different than anything else we have tried. The 2010 Gamay Noir Reserve was our favorite.

The tasting room is pretty big and had more of a commercial feel with the gift shop. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was very laid back even though it was almost closing time when we stopped. Overall a good experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyMichiganTrips-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bed & Breakfast Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Spent two of our anniversary's at their Bed & Breakfast. Wonderful rooms, views, and access to the winery.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Grand Traverse Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Chateau Grand Traverse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing