We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great wine tasting experience.”

Chateau Grand Traverse Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the first family wineries in Michigan, the O'Keefe family has been producing world-class quality wines on Old Mission Peninsula since 1974. As the pioneers in growing vinifera grapes in northern Michigan, their mission is to create expressive, classic-style wines while incorporating sustainable growing practices in their 125 acres of estate vineyards plus 60 acres under contract. Chateau Grand Traverse continues to define the Michigan wine industry with their award-winning Riesling wines as well as many other styles. The winery is open daily, year-round, offering wine tasting and free wine tours.
Spruce, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great wine tasting experience.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

The views of Traverse Bay, are breathtaking. My favorite wine is the late Harvest Reisling. They have a bed and breakfast with room for 6 couples, a pool table, a sauna, a relaxation room and a breakfast room. This is one of my favorite vacation spots in Michigan.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank llsouva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    61
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“not the best”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we went in a large girls group. we were treated like cattle. we were talked down to as if we had no idea about wine. we just left. we had little if no attention from staff as others were warmly welcomed and treated great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NR49008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winery Inn worth the money!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We did not have the pleasure of staying at the Inn, but our family did so we did get to visit and enjoy the experience with them. They had the entire place rented out and hosted a rehearsal dinner in the wine cellar. The views were breathtaking and I would highly recommend a weekend getaway here with family and/or friends. Having the whole inn to themselves, not to mention complimentary breakfast and daily bottles of wine, are fabulous perks and make for a memorable experience. Did I mention they have a very nice selection of wine?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorilye1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and pleasant experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Besides a free wine tasting and tour of the winery, we were astounded at the knowledge the staff were able to convey and just the plain welcoming attitude they displayed. Great people, great time. I would recommend all my friends and family to try out the FREE tasting and tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stop in for the view”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Great view and very nice tasting room. Had very good service from Dave and did not get poor treatment as read in other reviews. Wines tastings were free and you get 6 of them. Also a larger pour than other wineries. Big plus if you really want to get a idea of what the wine tastes like. Wines are okay. Another winery you need to go to while on M37.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevinGault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Grand Traverse Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Chateau Grand Traverse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing