We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Chateau Grand Traverse Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the first family wineries in Michigan, the O'Keefe family has been producing world-class quality wines on Old Mission Peninsula since 1974. As the pioneers in growing vinifera grapes in northern Michigan, their mission is to create expressive, classic-style wines while incorporating sustainable growing practices in their 125 acres of estate vineyards plus 60 acres under contract. Chateau Grand Traverse continues to define the Michigan wine industry with their award-winning Riesling wines as well as many other styles. The winery is open daily, year-round, offering wine tasting and free wine tours.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great service, large selection of wines to taste. The only thing I don't like about this winery is that it seems a little "cold" and commercialized. But that is how many of them feel on Old Mission, compared to Leelenau. All in all, worth the stop!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    58
    11
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved Ship of Fools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We enjoyed their wines, but the Ship of Fools was by far our favorite. Beware the tasting room is under construction so be patient while you wait. Can not wait to see the new room! Congrats on being open 40 years!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestulips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
179 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“I found some excellent wines here and bought a few.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This property looks prosperous, as does most of the "peninsula". We stopped in after a hot afternoon in early August at the lighthouse and rocky beach at the 45th Parallel.

The winery sales room is beautiful, clean and modern. Unfortunately, there were a few old smokers from a tour bus outside on the patio smelling up the joint - GROSS! My only complaint....let's move on.

This was my first (and only) winery and wine tasting experience. Great service and friendly knowledgeable staff. I am not a wine gourmet, so the wine advisor helped me through the tasting and purchasing. I was pleased, surprised and happy with the two bottles I selected, one white and one robust red. Such fine wines from Michigan!

I believe there are scheduled tours in the actual winery here from time to time but as usual, we were pressed.

There are a lot of wineries here on the peninsula, and Chateau is a great choice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank fritomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wines! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop of the wineries and it was A great start to the trip. The tour was very informational, interesting and free! They give you six free tastings which were all very good. We regret not buying more bottles!

Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wine, but long line”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Line was by far the longest of any of the 8 wineries we visited that Saturday. Took about 45 minutes to get through but overall I can't complain since it was also the only free wine tasting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank justin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth S, Marketing Coordinator at Chateau Grand Traverse Winery, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Justin, thank you for taking time to review your experience at Chateau Grand Traverse. I'm sorry to hear that you had to wait so long - October is definitely our busiest time of year, as you learned. We are currently working on addressing the issue with a complete tasting room overhaul: including an outdoor patio to accommodate our guests. We hope you can make it out the CGT for a visit in our new tasting room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Grand Traverse Winery also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Chateau Grand Traverse Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing