We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkshore Resort
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Good view, but you can't sleep on the balcony.... looks were very deceiving!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank Cheri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

I will NEVER stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone. We visit Traverse City 3-4 times a year and this was first and Last time staying at the Parkshore Resort. The front desk staff was always overwhelmed and unaccommodating. There was never a manager on staff, just young girls with very little knowledge of the hospitality industry and unprofessional behaviors (ie: eye rolls and inappropriate comments). We were also hit with additional hidden fees and taxes upon checkout. The nicest amenity was the beach front location but you can get that all along the East and West Bay in Traverse. I strongly encourage anyone making the trip to consider another hotel. We have frequented the Bayshore, Sugar Beach and Pinestead, all of these treat you like a guest rather than an inconvenience!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nelsontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The man at the front desk acted like we were bothering him and when our Reservation Number didn't work he acted like "well you shouldn't be there and leave." He did not say "well let me check this out or try to help you." This was a business/personal trip and I would NOT recommend this place to my friends. Also the food (breakfast) was terrible!! It was more like a continental breakfast.but they made you pay for it. I also ordered an appetizer and that tasted gross and threw it away. VERY BAD!! The only thing good was the view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kml022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I just completed a two night stay. The location is great and upon arrival, the hotel looked very nice. However, that's where it ended. The staff were not very friendly, particularly the gentleman at the front desk. We felt like we we bothering him to check-in and it did not appear he was capable of smiling. A lot of events are apparently held at this hotel and it was fully booked for the weekend. That is obviously good for the owners, but bad for guests, as parking is insufficient. Upon entering our room, we found it to have a beautiful view. However, the room did not appear to have been dusted or vacuumed in a long time. The headboards were covered in dust and dead fruit flies. The shower curtain was covered with mold on the bottom portion. There was hair on the bathroom floor and in the tub. The room decor was very dated and cheap -even though the rates are in excess of $200 per night. It doesn't appear that the owners are re-investing in the property. We asked that the shower curtain be replaced, but nothing was ever done. The sheets also appeared well used. I was very disappointed with this hotel and would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belts65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Would you like to add some extra excitement to your wedding or special event? If so, you should plan to hold it at the Parkshore Resort. When guests arrive for your event, if they are not staying overnight at the Parkshore, they will be barred from parking on-site. They will be directed to park about 1/8 of a mile away, on the opposite side of a busy 5-lane highway.

There is no shuttle or valet parking option. Therefore, your guests will have to make their way on foot across the busy highway without the aid of a traffic signal or crosswalk - much like the frog in the Frogger video game. Just think how much this will add to their enjoyment! Such exhilaration! And if they make it unscathed, they will get to have another go when they retrieve their cars! This will be even more fun in inclement weather or at dusk when visibility is poor.

You can also derive comfort when you think about the extra profits the Parkshore owners can pocket by not bothering to provide sufficient safe parking for the events they hold.

This review is based on our experience as a guest at an event in July, 2011.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank MandB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This hotel is placed nicely just outside of downtown TC and right in the beach. It looks really nice on the outside and in the lobby but when we entered our room it was poorly cleaned. The beds were made and we had clean towel but everything was dusty and you could tell no one had vacuumed for awhile. The beach is clean also the pool is very clean and a great size. They have a little bar/ restaurant next to the lobby that was always packed and I now know why it has great prices drinks are good and re food looked great. The front desk always seemed rude during the day but the women who was at the desk during the night was super kind and very helpful. One big problem I had was they would not give my husband his military discount because we made reservations same day as check in which I found crazy. If you do not plan on speeding much time in the hotel I guess it would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydmorgan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 days while looking for property in the Traverse City area. The hotel is centrally located on Rt. 31 and convenient to town, the mall, and the Grand Traverse Resort area.
We chose a courtside room with a partial view of the water and it was great. The place has some age on it but it had modern conveniences like a refrigerator, free wi-fi, and separate extra sink outside of the bathroom. The bed was not as firm as I like but I still slept well which is amazing since it is right on the highway. The noise is loud with the doorwall open but no noise with the doorwall closed. It had a balcony for sitting and relaxing.
The parking lot fills up fast since many people just drive in, park, and use the beach.
One word of advice: The pillows are very hard and overstuffed. If you like a softer feel, bring your own.....we always bring our own and were happy with that decision.

Room Tip: Best value are the courtside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annika326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkshore Resort

Address: 1401 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3636
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £48 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkshore Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Parkshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkshore Hotel Traverse City
Parkshore Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing