We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Traverse City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our trip to Traverse city was a last minute decision, and there wasn't much available in affordable hotels. The price for 5 nights here was very reasonable, so we were worried that it might be a dump. Turned out to be clean, friendly, newly renovated, with a very comfortable king sized bed and flat screen TV. No pool, only 3 pieces of equipment in the exercise room, and not much selection at the free breakfast, but we didn't expect much more for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    34
    31
    16
    18
See reviews for
29
51
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

My friend and I recently stayed there because we needed last minute lodging for a wedding. It was during the first weekend of the Traverse City Cherry festival and of course everything was booked up or extremely pricey. We found this hotel available and was able to book it for about $150/night with tax. The staff was extremely friendly and the male coworker helped in our suggestions on the "local" places to go for the best local wine/wineries. We checked in at noon and figured we would have to come back later but our room ended up being available. I can say that it's not top of the line but it's not crappy or gross either. It was very clean, the continental breakfast was good and fresh, and the rooms were extremely comfortable. I think once they finish with the renovations, it will be a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenferosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Three things sum up this property...
1. Its CLEAN.
2. FRIENDLY staff.
3. Great LOCATION.

I booked this room last minute and will definitely return. The breakfast is decent (waffles, hot and cold cereal, pastries, etc...), the wi-fi is strong, the beds are super comfortable and the staff are helpful and efficient. I booked another room for a stay in August!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

With so many hotels in Traverse City to choose from, we won't select Boarders again. Breakfast offered was subpar, and although the room was clean and carpet updated, the staff was lacking in customer service skills. And compared to the Americinn and Hampton, which we've stayed at in TC, this is a poor cousin that needs to step up its game to justify its prices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

There was limited availability due to the cherry festival and this hotel was fine. The chap on reception was not particularly enthusiastic, the room was basic but we did not need anything more. Disappointed that breakfast was only available until 9am when checkout wasn't until 11am. Also you could hear the maids banging on doors from pretty early on which woke me up. It sounded like they were desperate to get the rooms done. Good location for the bay and other hotels. Quite far out of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie3062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you, Debbie! We know you have many choices for lodging in Traverse City and we are so pleased that you chose to stay with us!

Please let us know how we can assist you with future visits to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We loved this place! The hotel has been upgraded this year with new carpet, higher end bedding (no ugly bedspreads), new furniture, etc. We loved the attention to detail! The charging stations on the desk were so perfect for charging phones, tablets and cameras!

The staff was so friendly and helpful! We cannot say enough about how pleasant they all were. They were knowledgeable about the area, events, and spot on with recommendations of what to do and where to go! They recommended Copper Falls Steakhouse for dinner and it was, by far, one of the best meals we have had in years! And the restaurant offers a free shuttle service to and from your hotel!

If you're looking for a great place in Traverse City - STAY AT BOARDERS INN! You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Beds are brand new and super comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savvy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRAND RAPIDS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

With so many other choices in TC, I would advise picking another hotel. Our room was not the greatest. I wouldn't say it was terrible, but it was loud, we could hear everything in the hallways, a bit dirty, and just felt cheap. We didn't even stay, walked in to our room, and walked right back down to the desk and got our money back. Ended up at the Sleep Inn down the road which was much more cozy and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimdurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy R, General Manager at Days Inn & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hi Kim,
I am sorry you were not happy with our accommodations. We take reviews such as yours very seriously and we do our best to improve!

I hope you'll allow us another chance to impress you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
2.4 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#27 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
5.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Traverse City

Property: Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Address: 1870 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our pet friendly hotel, located across the street from East Grand Traverse Bay is just 4 miles from downtown Traverse City on US-31. Convenient restaurants next door are Wendy's, Bob Evans, Don's Drive Inn, Ruby Tuesdays, and Smoke & Porter Steakhouse. Our rooms consist of single kings and double queens (standard rooms), a variety of handicap accessible rooms, single kings with in-room jetted tubs, single kings with fireplaces, sofa and in-room jetted tubs (deluxe rooms). All rooms have been renovated winter of 2016 with all new furniture, artwork, lighting, mirrors, vanities, toilets and tile, along with all new lobby and expanded breakfast rooms (February 2017). Pets are always welcome in pet designated rooms. The VASA trail abuts our parking lot and makes for a convenient place for runners, joggers, walkers, bicyclists, etc. to enjoy. With 65 rooms we are large enough to handle bus tours or groups needing lots of double queens. Call us today to book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 - Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Super Eight Traverse City
Traverse City Super Eight
Traverse City Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing