We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Affordable stay in Traverse City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Affordable stay in Traverse City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Boarders hotel in Traverse City is a converted Super 8 motel that offers clean rooms at an affordable price and prime location. Located within walking distance of a handful of fast food restaurants and miniature golf course, the location of this motel really is the selling point.

The rooms offered clean beds, flat-panel TVs, alarm clocks, and coffee makers. The motel also offers a basic fitness center (treadmill, bike, and elliptical), but we did not use it on this stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hypshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    36
    33
    19
    19
See reviews for
32
55
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel last night. We were planning to stay in Traverse City for only the day, but decided to stay overnight at the last minute. This hotel had an open room for $169.00. The lobby was nothing too impressive, and the elevator was, well...disgusting. The room was clean (mostly.) There was a stain on the decorative linen that was on top of our comforter, and we had a mystery wet spot on our carpet for the duration of our stay, but our bed was comfortable and our bathroom was clean. The T.V. was small but good quality, and we slept great on the mattress.
The staff was very helpful. After leaving the downtown area at close to 1 a.m. they directed us to the best place where we could get a pizza delivered at 1 in the morning, and looked up the phone number for us.
In the morning, we went down for the breakfast and were very happy with the selection. There was an area where you could make your own waffles, cereal, muffins, toast, hard boiled eggs, chocolate and white milk, apple and orange juice, as well as several other breakfast staples.
The location was great, minus the fact that it is very difficult to turn left out of this hotel. However, it's not for from anything and it's within walking distance of a Wendy's, Hooters, and the best mini golf course we have ever visited (They also have a ropes course, go karts, bumper boats, and other attractions). It is across the street from the lakeside hotels, and we could see the lake from our 3rd floor room.
All in all, it was a good hotel for a one night trip that we booked on the fly. When we go back though, I think that we will be selecting a different place to stay. It was not worth the $170.00 per night price tag.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandgeek239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

It used to be super 8 motel. Did not seem to change anything but the name and doubled the price (obviously!) It would be acceptable to stay overnight but not much longer. Pretty much everything is old, outdated, and dire need of renovation and cleaning. The carpet in the elevator is encrusted with dirt! The room keys do not work properly. The bathroom small and needs update badly. The plastic bathtub making cracking sounds when you move is a major shame! The towels are smelly. Housekeeping is pathetic. One of the days they forgot to clean our room... The bottle screw cup that I dropped on the first day was sitting under the desk, next to trash basket for 4 days. At the same time, the envelop for tips with the housekeeper handwritten name (classy move!) was updated regularly... Need to put their act together. Not coming back and do not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxapmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

There are not a lot of options in Traverse City, on a Saturday night, in August, at a reasonable rate. I discovered this when I needed to be in the area for work and needed to find a room just a few weeks in advance. However, reviews from my trusted TripAdvisor community helped me feel comfortable about making a one-night reservation at the Boarders Inn (for $169).

As mentioned, this used to be the Super 8. I never stayed there when it was the Super 8; but the Boarders Inn website says "Newly Renovated!".

Here's what I liked: The bed was comfortable, clean, with updated linens. The room/bath was clean. The staff were all friendly. Hot waffles were part of the continental breakfast. AC unit worked great.

Here's what I didn't like: The common area carpets were not clean, and the elevator was particularly banged-up and messy. The staff (though friendly!) were not particularly professional; one wore a ripped and stained "uniform" while manning the front desk. There were industrial garbage cans in the hallways without lids, apparently for guest use. Really expensive for what you got (but probably market rate for TC on a summer weekend).

Here's what I didn't mind, but you should know about: The room furniture (desk, chair, tables) were very worn/banged up and definitely not part of the "renovation". No mini-fridge or microwave in the room. The AC unit is noisy. Traffic noise too, at least if you are on the front of the hotel. There is now seating for more than 8 (mentioned in a prior review) for the breakfast; maybe 8 tables?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StreamGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We traveled a little further than planned and had to hunt for a room. Many hotels in the area were full. We took the last room available here. The hotel staff was helpful and accommodating. The room only had one light and the bathroom light had a bad ballast and flickered. The room furnishings were very sparse. We had to settle, but if other options were available, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was previously a Super8 so I was a bit concerned. But the room was clean and the staff was friendly. The rooms are smaller and simple, but they have seen some updating. It was a very hot day and the AC worked very well. They also have free breakfast and wifi (although it seemed a bit on the slow side). It's on the main drag so traffic is high and it can be a challenge to turn left when leaving. You also have several restaurants that you can walk to both to the left and right, along with a small amusement park (putt-putt golf, water slides, go-karts, zip line, etc.) There's also a walking trail right behind the motel. The only negative was the room phone didn't work and didn't get repaired during our stay ... but I consider that a minor issue.

Room Tip: We selected a top floor toward the back to minimize the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe49424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our trip to Traverse city was a last minute decision, and there wasn't much available in affordable hotels. The price for 5 nights here was very reasonable, so we were worried that it might be a dump. Turned out to be clean, friendly, newly renovated, with a very comfortable king sized bed and flat screen TV. No pool, only 3 pieces of equipment in the exercise room, and not much selection at the free breakfast, but we didn't expect much more for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
2.4 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
2.4 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#27 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Traverse City

Property: Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Address: 1870 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3746 (Formerly Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Traverse City 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our pet friendly hotel, located across the street from East Grand Traverse Bay is just 4 miles from downtown Traverse City on US-31. Convenient restaurants next door are Wendy's, Bob Evans, Don's Drive Inn, Ruby Tuesdays, and Smoke & Porter Steakhouse. Our rooms consist of single kings and double queens (standard rooms), a variety of handicap accessible rooms, single kings with in-room jetted tubs, single kings with fireplaces, sofa and in-room jetted tubs (deluxe rooms). All rooms have been renovated winter of 2016 with all new furniture, artwork, lighting, mirrors, vanities, toilets and tile, along with all new lobby and expanded breakfast rooms (February 2017). Pets are always welcome in pet designated rooms. The VASA trail abuts our parking lot and makes for a convenient place for runners, joggers, walkers, bicyclists, etc. to enjoy. With 65 rooms we are large enough to handle bus tours or groups needing lots of double queens. Call us today to book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 - Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Super Eight Traverse City
Traverse City Super Eight
Traverse City Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing