We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice spices, eclectic atmosphere”
Review of Xylo Bistro - CLOSED

Xylo Bistro
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, nice spices, eclectic atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Found this on Yelp when visiting Traverse. Was a real nice find. Lots of art for sale on the walls, quiet, comfortable atmosphere. The food was excellent and had a nice range of tastes, and very good flavor. We ordered 4 different dishes and shared, which was a great idea since everything did taste so differently. The bar has some local beer, wine and top shelf liquor. Overall a good selection with not too much to decide on. The wait staff was nice and friendly - but nothing special. Best part of the experience was the food and looking at art work.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeesterMichaelBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, ON
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Continues to Improve!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My wife and I visited Traverse City for several days earlier this month and we decided to revisit Xylo, since we had enjoyed previous visits to the restaurant. Since our last visit the menu has been significantly expanded and they have acquired a liquor licence. Once again, the food was excellent and service was prompt, despite a "full house". We noticed that a new hotel is under construction just across the street. Once completed I suspect that reservations will be a must, something we did not need on this occasion. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gasman8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“much less than I expected.”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visited this restaurant based on reviews on Tripadvisor, but should have taken negative comments more seriously. We were very disappointed. I requested a change on a menu item to make it fit my diet, and was told it would result in a 50% price increase. I ordered the fish sandwich. When it arrived, it looked like a huge greasy donut on a bun. Somewhere in that fried lump of flour, was a hint of fish, but it was difficult to locate. My wife ordered a vegi sandwich on which the cheese was so over broiled, it was a black char.
We were so disgusted with the quality of food in Traverse city, we ate at a 'safe' chain in the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allen006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RO, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian options”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly service, good atmosphere, good vegetarian options. Parking can be a challenge, but worth the walk from anywhere nearby.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KDG1andKDG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good! But don't go near closing time”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We went here on recommendation from our vacation rental owner. She said it was the best pad Thai she had ever had. We got caught up sightseeing and didn't realize how late it was getting. We called at 8:15 and asked if we could still come in, and were told "yes, as long as you are seated and order by 9, you're great." We do this- seated and ordered by 8:40. We are the only people in there. Our server was amazing- so nice! Two of us order decaf coffee. When she tells the bartender girl, I hear the her say "you've got to be kidding" though our server never let on if she was displeased. From there on out, I noticed the bartender look over at us, and the chef and other help as well. Overall, it was an awkward dining experience. Food was good, server was fantastic. But never have I felt so anxious to get out of a place I'm paying to eat because people keep coming to look at you to egg you on to eat faster!

Helpful?
1 Thank katleebrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xylo Bistro also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing