We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

My wife and I decided to take a trip up to Michigan to visit the Sleeping Bear Dunes and we selected the Bay Inn due to it's low price and favorable rating on Trip Advisor.

We were happy to have some time alone without the kids but were elated to find a great hotel that would have been great for the entire family. The pool was very nice and we had a stove, microwave, refrigerator and table and chairs that would serve as a great base of operations for excursions in and around Traverse City. The hotel also offers bicycles for it's guest to borrow for small trips around the hotel and down to the beach.

Jeff the owner/manager was very nice and even helped us find a great local restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swoopdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    72
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
71
109
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We recently stayed here on our mini vacation to the Traverse City area. We have two small children, so we really liked the idea of a suite where we could put the kids in a separate room. The price (especially the midweek one) is very reasonable for the space you get. It felt like a small apartment as opposed to a motel room. The staff here is very friendly and you can tell they care about their guests.

There are a few things you should be aware of before booking. The main one is due to the fact that the facility is a little older, the doors/walls are not very sound proof and voices and/or cigarette smoking from outside the door travel in easily. Our bedrooms were in the back so it wasn't a huge issue, but it was noticeable in the living area which was up front. There is also a slight odor of mustiness that is probably due to the fact that the facility (and perhaps the carpet?) has been around for awhile. It is not overpowering but is noticeable. They have made a few updates, especially with the TVs which are flat screen. The one upstairs even had a built in DVD player.

The bedrooms are good sized but the bathroom is quite small. There is no storage in the bathroom but there was a large storage closet across from the bathroom where you can keep your toiletries. The kitchen area was well stocked. The only thing we had to buy besides food was paper towels.

The beds are comfortable and have white duvets as opposed to the dated comforters you see in the pictures on the website, which was a pleasant surprise. Our duvet had a few spots that looked yellowed, which may have been from bleaching as I feel that the cleaning staff works pretty hard. The bathroom and tub were clean.

All in all, if you need space and function over luxury, as we did, this is the place for you. I feel like the mid week price is a bargain and the weekend rate is a little higher than it's worth, but that it averaged out over our stay. It fulfills an important need for groups/families on a budget and I'm glad it is there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MIMom2Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

I'd like to say "you get what you pay for" and live with it. Normally we stay at somewhat higher priced places. This time, however, we went lower priced as we were only going to be in the hotel for sleeping.

DO NOT GO HERE. Almost anything is better. Floors are damp and dirty. Read all the reviews about people having their socks turn black...its true. Our room had a constant strong odor, like a wet dog. We opened all the windows, turned on the fans, informed the office, who volunteered to spray air freshener. (Does spraying clean scent over a dirty place change anything?) and left for a few hours. Came back and no change.

The refrigerator didn't work so they dropped off a backup one that was so small it couldn't even shut with a takeout container in it.

Main problem is the smell and the floors. Its very distracting because its so obvious you spend time wondering what you CAN'T see. Are these sheets clean? Is there a drowned rat under this toilet seat? Did the last kid pee from one end of the hall to the other....with all his brothers?

Some amenities may not be worth paying for at any hotel, depending on the individual. However, no hotel in a resort town should actually reek, regardless of the price/value. Stay away. The nostrils you save could be your own.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADFocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
I must say it is very disheartening to read your comments about my Inn and I am very sorry to have not met your expectations. My staff and I are devastated by a review such as yours and will do whatever is necessary to correct any possible real issues related to your experience. We take great pride in what we do here and will continue our endeavor to provide the best experience possible for our many returning and new guests alike. Your choice of words and the further implications you brought forth are, however, beyond comment. I do wish you the best and truly hope that your next travel experience is a pleasant one. – Jeff W, Owner, Traverse Bay Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

I didn't realize that this booking would be so pleasant. The room is like a little apartment. Our room had a 4-person table, love seat, and nice mini-kitchen (refrigerator, stove, microwave, toaster, sink). There was a TV in every room. The upstairs King size bed was comfortable and we loved the jucuzzi tub too! We felt we got more than a hotel room with this stay and we'll definitely come back.
We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean.

Room Tip: Bring bubble bath and your own kitchen towels:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludington, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

My partner and I stayed in a room at Grand Traverse Inn just to getaway for a few days. Got the room for $39 per night and it was WELL worth it. Fully stocked kitchenette. Upstairs Bedroom has 2 queen beds tv and window looking onto wooded area in the back of the motel. Downstairs bedroom has tv and queen bed. Also looks onto wooded area. All in all there were 3 walk in closets! All bedding was clean and plush, though the mattresses were quite hard for our taste. The room was very clean. I was kinda weary because I had read a couple reviews that said the carpet was dirty but it was not. In fact it looked quite new. I just can't believe the value this Inn offers. On top of the low nightly rate we saved money on meals as we were able to cook breakfast and even a steak dinner one night. I will definately stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevmike11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
Thanks for the great comments! SO glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again at the Traverse Bay Inn. Rest assured (pun intended) I've checked out the mattresses in that room and put them on the replacement list, our annual spring mattress order will be arriving soon. You may be interested to know that you can now book directly on our Facebook page so please do give us a look and “like” there for added discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed for three days in September ( 6 of us). Pool was closed but the hot tub was still running and it was great.

The rooms were big, clean, and everything worked. The Jacuzzi upstairs was a nice treat.

The staff did a great job of making us welcome. The complimentary Champagne was great. Mamosas in the morning.

Loved the proximity to all of the wineries. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

We are going back again.

Room Tip: The two story rooms with the loft was our choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOTTMITZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

The first time we stayed there was with friends. We had a large 2 bedroom suite with a fireplace. It was a great value! The beds had big white comfy duvet. One of the rooms even had a king sized bed in it! It had a living room with couch and a fireplace. The kitchenette was all stocked with everything you could possible need. Even ice cubes in the freezer! Roomy enough for two couples or a family to stay at. Our second stay, was just as impressive. We had a one bedroom suite. It was bigger than I imagined. We''ve only stayed there in the winter so I'm not sure about the outdoor pool, etc. The staff was friendly. And the price was right! I'd highly recommend this hotel to all my friends & family.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodgegirl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#26 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Property: Traverse Bay Inn
Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing