We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Just got home from two nights at Traverse Bay Inn and can't wait to return.
The rooms were stocked well with everything you could want and were clean.
The outdoor pool/hot tub area was clean and enjoyable.
Owner was very gracious. Our next trip to Traverse City will definitely be at
the Traverse Bay Inn.

Tina

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mason1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    72
    13
    9
    11
See reviews for
71
109
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walled Lake, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Whether you are on vacation as a family, couple, single or in the Grand Traverse area on business, the Traverse Bay Inn is a great place to stay if you want to bypass the multi-level, high end (and pricey) "strip resorts". Jeff and Chris offer a very comfortable, clean and FUN in with some features I appreciate...cute in-room kitchenette (sometimes I like to just make a quick breakfast and head out early or take a picnic lunch to one of the beautiful area beaches..saves $$ and I don't have to interrupt my beach time going to a restaurant)...comfortable beds (no fear of bed bugs here!!)... nice tub/shower..flat screen T.V. in living area and bedroom...windows that open with screens (for that frsh northern air) and a beautiful poll area surrounded by trees. Just a few minutes from the State Park beach, downtown Travers City fun and the gorgeous cherry and wine country, the Traverse Bay Inn is a great choice to call your home away from home when enjoying the "good life" Up North! C.A. from Walled Lake, MI

Room Tip: Very clean, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Springs, MO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Although located on a busy highway, the motel is surrounded by trees so that the view from the bedrooms is that of nature. The pool and hot tub are attractively landscaped. The units are well maintained and very clean.

The unit is equipped with a medium-sized refrigerator, a 4 burner stove with oven and broiler, and all the dishes and pans needed for cooking. In addition, a grill is located near the pool. A small living/kitchen area, bath, and one queen bedroom is downstairs with two double or queen beds upstairs.

The unit is quite comfortable to live in for several days. The self-service laundry is the cheapest I've seen in 10+ years: $1.00 for washing and $.50 for drying!

Jeff, the owner, gave us excellent recommendations for dining, buying smoked whitefish, and driving excursions in the area.

If we come to Traverse City again, we will definitely stay here. The Inn is located across the street from a city park on the bay. There is no sand beach, but there are benches allowing you to watch activities in the shallow water of the bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredEngTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defiance, OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We love Traverse Bay Inn.....it offers a clean, comfortable, and convenient place to stay, that includes a full kitchen and living room area that is seperate from the comfy bedroom. . Hot tub and pool also very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. And all at a very reasonable price. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed two nights at the Traverse Bay Inn. The Inn is a motel with rooms accessed from the outside. The hotel is well located and convenient to the water, Old Mission Peninsula and places to eat. Moomer's Ice Cream is also very close by. The outside is very well maintained and attractively painted and landscaped with hanging baskets of flowers. The pool water was crystal clear, warm and very inviting. Amazing that in addition to your room and pool, the owners also provide bikes and new looking beach chairs if needed. We were in TC looking for land for sale, so we didn't spend much time in our room. The suite is small,but the space is well- utilized. Our unit included a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen/dining and sitting area. Kitchen has a refrigerator, sink and is stocked with dishes.The bed was comfortable and everything was spotless. There were two large closets, iron and ironing board and a hair dryer. The bedroom had a TV and the sitting area had a small flat-screen TV. The rooms have everything you need to be comfortable and were much cheaper than anything else in TC. So if you're used to staying at Marriott Hotels or the like, you have to expect that clean you will get, but posh you will not. The rooms are well kept, but furnishings are older looking and the carpet is like industrial carpet. There was a very faint mildewy smell at times, but even though that would usually bother me it didn't because everything was so clean. The staff was friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations.We would stay there again if we're looking for cheap, but well-maintained and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

What a wonderful bargain, convenient to most everything, with clean rooms and a welcoming staff. We stumbled upon the Traverse Bay Inn, and found ourselves very fortunate in doing so. We will be returning. The free bikes made cruising the city bike trails easy. The public beach is right up the street. Very nice restaurants within walking distance. All around positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
I’m so glad to hear of your good experience with us here at TBI! It's been a really busy season and it's good to know we are contributing to a hopefully all-around positive Traverse City visit. Family vacations are expensive and we understand just how precious your family time is. That being said it is really gratifying to know we could possibly be a small part of your future vacation memories. Please do plan a return visit soon and always try to find time to chat when your here! We always enjoy sharing that local secret you may have missed on a previous visit. - Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My husband jason and I have been in Traverse City for the past month for business. We happened to run across this Inn and booked about 4 nights in the hot tub room. I have to say the staff was so very friendly especialy the owner Jeff. The room was so nice with full kitchen, 3 tv's and two were flat screens, and a huge upstairs bedroom with the nice hot tub and king size bed. The pool was clean and refreshing. I give the place 10 out of 10. Actually we are still in the Traverse area and staying at a Holiday Inn but we would much rather stay at the Grand Traverse Bay Inn, unfortuantly so would everyone eles, the rooms have been booked up almost everyday. As soon as there are some vacancy rooms, we are moving. Great place, great staff, great experience......Natasha Brown

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tash272011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#27 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Property: Traverse Bay Inn
Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing