We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value beyond expectation!!!”
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value beyond expectation!!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Check in was a breeze, but make sure that you arrive in time or make arrangements if arriving late as the office closes at 9pm in the shoulder season. It's well located on US 31 not to far from downtown and a mile or so from the state park. The unit is nothing phenomenal, but has all that you need and more. It was spotlessly clean and well maintained. For the price we paid in September, I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality, and will return on my next trip to TC.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmtemp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    73
    17
    10
    11
See reviews for
74
113
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cadillac, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was the worse experience I have ever had with any hotel. I book my room well in advance. My husband and I were planning on staying there for one night after our wedding that day. I booked a jacuzzi suite and really needed it. We planned our wedding in one month and did everything ourselves including the food. We were up at 6 am and had a great day. When we arrived at Traverse Bay Inn no one was in the registration office. We called the number on the door and spoke with a gentleman who identified himself as the owner. He proceeded to tell us that someone had checked in under my name and that they had not given a new credit card. He did assure me that he wouldn't charge my card however it is still labor day and who knows if that is the case. He didn't bother to come to the hotel to sort out the matter and his only solution was to offer us to stay in a room in the manager suite where someone else was currently already staying. After almost falling asleep on the ride up to Traverse City from Cadillac, we were further disappointed to find out that there were literally no more rooms available in Traverse City. So we had no other chose than to drive home even more tired and almost fell asleep several times on the way home. I recommend that no one give this hotel their money. This was the worst and the owner was not very apologetic at all. allowing someone to check in under my name I am sure is fraud.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Charity N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
I would again like to offer my most sincere apologies for your whole unfortunate experience. We certainly feel terrible and please try to understand that we do not intentionally want to ruin anyone’s vacation let alone a special night like you had planned. We had no idea it was your wedding day or of any late arrival plans and would have liked to have worked with you earlier as we always try to make those kinds of special stays and arrivals even more special for our guests. That certainly did not happen on this occasion. When we make mistakes we do try our best to "make it right" but sometimes there are few acceptable solutions available. Considering your near midnight arrival and subsequent phone call on one of the busiest days of the year my offer of a free room, although I realize not the same room you in fact booked, unfortunately was the best I could think of under the circumstances as I knew from trying to help other travelers earlier that evening that finding an appropriate room in another hotel at that late hour would be impossible. My attempt to contact you after the incident and before reading this review and my stated further offer to you still stands. Once again my staff and I are sorry to have been a part of such a disappointing experience for you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I booked this room for a last minute trip for my daughter and myself. The one bedroom is awesome and we truly felt like a home away from home. The room was spotless, couch and bed comfortable, kitchenette came in handy, ice cold AC. I really like having a bedroom as my daughter was able to go to bed while I stayed up later. This would be a great option for families with small children. We brought an air mattress so one could sleep in the living room area. Oh and the closets are huge, you could fit a twin air mattress in each closet. Very quite and great location. I wanted to stay another night but no vacancy being Labor Day weekend. We are already planning a color trip for Fall, and I won't be staying any where else!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanne1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Just got home from two nights at Traverse Bay Inn and can't wait to return.
The rooms were stocked well with everything you could want and were clean.
The outdoor pool/hot tub area was clean and enjoyable.
Owner was very gracious. Our next trip to Traverse City will definitely be at
the Traverse Bay Inn.

Tina

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mason1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walled Lake, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Whether you are on vacation as a family, couple, single or in the Grand Traverse area on business, the Traverse Bay Inn is a great place to stay if you want to bypass the multi-level, high end (and pricey) "strip resorts". Jeff and Chris offer a very comfortable, clean and FUN in with some features I appreciate...cute in-room kitchenette (sometimes I like to just make a quick breakfast and head out early or take a picnic lunch to one of the beautiful area beaches..saves $$ and I don't have to interrupt my beach time going to a restaurant)...comfortable beds (no fear of bed bugs here!!)... nice tub/shower..flat screen T.V. in living area and bedroom...windows that open with screens (for that frsh northern air) and a beautiful poll area surrounded by trees. Just a few minutes from the State Park beach, downtown Travers City fun and the gorgeous cherry and wine country, the Traverse Bay Inn is a great choice to call your home away from home when enjoying the "good life" Up North! C.A. from Walled Lake, MI

Room Tip: Very clean, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Springs, MO
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Although located on a busy highway, the motel is surrounded by trees so that the view from the bedrooms is that of nature. The pool and hot tub are attractively landscaped. The units are well maintained and very clean.

The unit is equipped with a medium-sized refrigerator, a 4 burner stove with oven and broiler, and all the dishes and pans needed for cooking. In addition, a grill is located near the pool. A small living/kitchen area, bath, and one queen bedroom is downstairs with two double or queen beds upstairs.

The unit is quite comfortable to live in for several days. The self-service laundry is the cheapest I've seen in 10+ years: $1.00 for washing and $.50 for drying!

Jeff, the owner, gave us excellent recommendations for dining, buying smoked whitefish, and driving excursions in the area.

If we come to Traverse City again, we will definitely stay here. The Inn is located across the street from a city park on the bay. There is no sand beach, but there are benches allowing you to watch activities in the shallow water of the bay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredEngTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Defiance, OH
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We love Traverse Bay Inn.....it offers a clean, comfortable, and convenient place to stay, that includes a full kitchen and living room area that is seperate from the comfy bedroom. . Hot tub and pool also very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. And all at a very reasonable price. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
210 reviews
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
376 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#25 of 40 in Traverse City
291 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Property: Traverse Bay Inn
Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing