We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family motel! Everything you need for a relaxing vacation”
Review of Traverse Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Traverse Bay Inn
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We have stayed at Traverse Bay Inn for 2 years in a row now, and we will always stay here whenever we visit Traverse City! The convenience of your own kitchen, beautiful televisions, air conditioning, a lovely pool, on-site laundry, etc are wonderful when you are travelling with very young children. And the rates are outstanding. We can't say enough great things about this place! We love Traverse City and the Traverse Bay Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2010

The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful with directions and suggestions for things to do.This is the second time I have stayed at Traverse Bay Inn and I have loved it both times. I stay hear because of the price. Given how reasonable the price is it has a lot of great perks. The best part is the living room/kitchen with dishes and pots. There is a small pool, hot tub and a grill. My husband and I grilled steaks then rode the complimentary bikes. The hotel is right across the street from the bay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our 2-bedroom suite at Traverse Bay Inn was simple yet adequate. We were 5 women in our 30's and 40's fighting over the upstairs bedroom because it was so quaint! The motel is older but very well maintained! Our suite was immacculate and though we were there prior to the summer season, the grounds were well-kept and the structure was in excellent repair. Despite its age, our room was very quiet with no outside noise or noise coming from adjacent rooms. I slept in the downstairs room and hear no noise at all from the 3 crazy women sleeping upstairs. The walls and floors must be very well insulated.

The property butts up against the TART trail, which made it super convenient for our morning run. The TART runs all the way into the downtown area and up M-22. It's also great for biking - just in case you are not a runner.

Based on the price and what the website said we were getting, I was a little nervous about what we wold find on arrival, but what we got was a great place to stay at a great price!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanderbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

great place. We had the one bedroom suite, tons of closet space! kitchen that was stocked with almost all basic needs. no baking pans but we picked up a pizza pan at $store. We paid $40 a night! saved us so much money by not haveing to eat out all the time, it was like getting the room for free at that price.Room had couch, table with 4 chairs. No 24 hour staff, but they let you know that right away so if you need something you can get it befor they leave, they also have a phone number you can call if you have a problem. will stay with them again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpllizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Staff at this hotel were nice and very willing to help w/ anything. The rooms are well
maintained and a great value. Hotel is across the street from the east bay
and close to everything. Will gladly return again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBPACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We loved our stay! Staff was friendly, room was clean, hotel was quiet, the location was far enough from the crazy Traverse City Traffic but close enough to get downtown in minutes.

Kitchen was a great help to have, we will go back. Great Value! We did the Wineries Package. Leelanau wineries were beautiful and fun to tour.

If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with room service, resturants and night life this is not for you, but if you are looking for a great value, nice clean rooms, and a friendly staff this is the place to go!

All you have to do is check out my other review and see I am honest.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenosabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Our white socks were black after walking on the carpet. The bathroom is so small it is almost unusable. It also smelled like wet dog. I don't think it's a good bargain for the price at all especially since there were three double beds, but they charge more for more than 2 adults. Then you get two tear open little packets of shampoo. The location is nothing special either.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelertipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TBI-Owner, Owner at Traverse Bay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2010

Dear travelertipster,
As the owner of the Traverse Bay Inn I wish to thank you for your review. We strive to always give our guests the very best experience while staying at our Inn. We are always disappointed to see that a guest had a bad experience and especially so if we were unaware of your concerns during your visit. We certainly take your comments seriously and will use them in a positive manner to better serve our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#30 of 40 in Traverse City
325 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
394 reviews
2.8 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traverse Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traverse Bay Inn

Address: 2300 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3756
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £35 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Traverse Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Traverse Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traverse Bay Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing