We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly beautiful walking trail through farmland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails

Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails
Ranked #10 of 106 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traverse Area Recreation & Transportation (TART) Trails is system of paved and dirt trails for walkers, hikers, bikers, skaters and skiers in Northern Michigan. Trails are open year-round and available for many users and uses. Many of the paved trails offer access to local breweries, wineries, coffeehouses, restaurants and other area attractions such as lakes, river and beaches. Many of the dirt trails offer world class mountain biking and hiking opportunities for users of various skill levels. Numerous area bike shops offer rentals for any type of technical or recreational riders. Dogs are also welcomed on the trails and must be leashed and cleaned up after.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly beautiful walking trail through farmland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

As part of our visit to see my sister, we drove about two miles to an access point for this trail. We only walked about two miles of the trail, but were very impressed with the upkeep, the seclusion, the interesting things to see and the easy access. We would love to walk more of this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    19
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“TART Trails are the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I take my dog on the trails all the time and they are always a lot of fun. Beautiful surroundings and always groomed and maintained well. Great for cross country skiing in the winter too. If you love the outdoors get a TART map and explore for yourself!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JetSetterKDeltaair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“RIDING BIKES ON THE TART TRAIL A MUST SEE AND DO IN TRAVERSE CITY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Enjoy the scenery along West and East Grand Traverse Bays as you ride along the lakeshore past the Clinch Park Marina and miles of beaches. Take the Boardman Lake loop along the East side of the lake behind the Public Library. Finish your ride by stopping off for a cold micro brewed beer at the Filling Station. The TART Trail is paved all of the way to Suttons Bay, a charming New England-style harbor town, as you ride through the rolling Leelanau Countryside. Bus service is available for bikers on the return to T.C. If you are too tired to ride home or stopped to go wine tasting along the way!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We took the BART to Suttons Bay with our bikes and came down through the Leelanau Trail and TART into Traverse City. What a beautiful bike path and so well maintained. We also did the TART through Traverse City, loved that we could take our bikes through town, really saved on our time to enjoy ourselves instead of being stuck in traffic. Keep up the good work!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham, mi
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Bring or rent bikes from Traverse City to Suttons Bay. Just a great way to spend a day and then return home after lunch or dinner. If it's warm bring your suits for a swim at the beautiful beach in downtown Suttons Bay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank terristours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Traverse Area Recreation and Transportation Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing