We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goes out of their way to please!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Harrison, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Goes out of their way to please!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed two nights at the Grand Beach in Traverse City (April 5/6, 2013). Wonderful view of Grand Traverse Bay and sandy beach. Heated pool and hot tub. The breakfast bar was included and it was exceptional! Though it was a very busy weekend with many children staying there (Easter vacation), it was very quiet in the evenings. It was a "great" weekend stay and would love to go back again someday.

Room Tip: Stayed on third floor, beach side....what a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    113
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
107
145
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Situated right on the lake. The lake is so big you might as well be on the ocean. Hotel is clean and the staff was great. Plenty of places to eat. So much to do, especially in the warmer weather. Weh had the room facing the lake with balcony and hot tub in the bedroom area. The only thing the room was missing was a wine screw. I had to rough it but, it was all worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneyes0859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the waterfront views of this hotel. Our room was right on the water and were just gorgeous. Rooms were very clean. Inland rooms feature the jacuzzis. The hotel service really was the biggest downfall. this was our first time in Traverse City and when we inquired about things to do and favorite restaurants, we were told to get a map. Not exactly the most pleasant response. The other downfall are the matresses. Bring your own pillows! The pillows in the room don't provide a good sleep. :( overall, we'd come back. You can't beat the location!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccdayohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here during the school break between Christmas and New Years to take are kids sking in the area. This was the third time we have stayed at this property, but first since 2000. Well we were not dispointed.

Stayed in a family suite that was very clean and had two king beds in bedroom and queen sleeper sofa in a separate living area. In the living room there was an additional chair to sit in by the sofa along with a small kitchen table and two additional chairs. Good size fridge, sink, microwave and additional counterspace. TV in living room was a 50 inch flat screen mounted on wall and TV in bedroom was a old tube 27" TV integrated into a cabinet. Plenty of room for our family of six with all of our ski gear. Only bummer was the heated pool was a little cool. Breakfast was fine, nothing special, but the price, customer service, and location is all top notch.

Will stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dgprouty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed here during the winter time which of course can always be interesting in Northern Michigan. The room was very clean, it was in a great location and the hotel staff was very friendly. Wished we could have gotten a late check out- however that is life. Overall very satisfied with the stay I am not looking into returning in the summer.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

I would stay with this hotel agin. The room was clean. We had a jacuzzi tub. It was clean and huge.Breakfast was what you expect for a hotel breakfast. The pool was nice. The best part was the beach. You are right on the beach. The water is clear and shallow. Perfect for families to play or couples to relax. We spent every evening relaxing by the bay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Check in was easy, directions to the room were off as she told me to go through the breezeway when the door to where my room was under the breezeway. They also offered to open breakfast early if our team had an early game which I thought was nice. The room was large with a fridge & microwave. The beds were comfortable. The only issue was a slow draining shower.

The breakfast was disappointing, very little there. My son ate it because he didn't have time to do anything else. I went elsewhere to eat.

We had a gorgeous view of the bay from our room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mihockeymom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Property: Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Grand Beach Resort Hotel is one of the finest waterfront lodging facilities located on the beautiful beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City, Michigan. Greet the stunning sunrise or relax to a gorgeous sunset from the privacy of your own balcony or patio overlooking more than 300’ of sugar sand beach being caressed by the waves of East Bay. This Resort is perfect for enjoying water sports, local shopping, and the best of eateries, wineries and breweries. You can also enjoy the plentiful amenities such as an indoor pool, hot tub, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, fitness center and more to make your stay not only enjoyable but memorable for years to come. The newly renovated rooms offer our guests pillow-top mattresses, a mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and in-room safe. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Grand Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing