We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay on the East Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for five days while visiting family in the area, and had a good stay. We come to Traverse City every summer and would probably stay here again (especially if a room on the bay was available).

Lots of good stuff:
- Clean rooms with comfortable beds
- Microwave and mini-fridge in the room
- Large, sandy beach with lots of chairs available (no chair rental fee)
- Little noise from other rooms, especially considering that the hotel was fairly full
- Beach towels provided in your room and replaced daily (so you don't have to sign your life away to get one like you do in some places)
- If you're interested in water activities (wave runners, etc.), they have a rental kiosk right on the beach.

Along with a few caveats:
- Breakfast area is small and poorly organized, leading to long, slow-moving lines when the hotel is full. Choices are adequate for a continental-breakfast-plus-waffles, but no better than adequate.
- Limited space to hang clothes (in a free-standing armoire, not a closet). For the two of us, there was enough space, but with more people in the room I could imagine it getting quite full.
- The indoor pool was at bath water temperature, and the pool room was very, very warm. Seemed like overkill in mid-summer.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the bay. First floor rooms on the bay have patios that open out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank profmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at the Grand Beach ob July 20, 2014, wish we booked additional nights! Very clean, comfortable beds, the beach right at our doorstep! We ordered pizza fro delivery and ate at our table on the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Edwina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After a horrible stay in Mackinac City we decided to cut and run and head to Traverse City. Not only was the price amazing, the staff very friendly, informative, and helpful, but most importantly the room and beach were clean! Many beach chairs to choose from, plenty of towels, water to spray off with after leaving the sand, and tons to rent. Being able to watch the sunset on the beach with our entire family made it a wonderful end to our day. Free breakfast was wonderful as well, but if you don't like lines get there before 930am. Right across from the putt putt course and down the street from Red Mesa Grill, one of our favorite restaurants in the area. Thank you Grand Beach! We WILL be back, for both a romantic getaway as well as family trips too.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room looking out over the parking lot and still had an amazing time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ritravelerMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Last stay was 5 years ago, and nothing changed since my last review at this hotel. Still the best beach in TC, still a good breakfast, pool and great staff. Rooms are updated and clean. I feel the rates are cheaper than my previous visits, had a non bay front room on the weekday for 129/night and 139 for the weekend. Not bad at all! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a memorable experience in Traverse City!

TIP: The casino shuttle (which is not owned nor ran by Grand Beach, but by Turtle Creek Casino) is sometimes late or off schedule, I missed the shuttle and had to drive, but no big deal. Just double check with the staff! Or even call the casino to see where the bus is at.

Safe travels everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On two different trips to Traverse City we have stayed at the Grand Beach Resort. It is located right on the beach and along a section of US 31 with lots of restaurants and things to do. The TART trail is right across the street and a great place to run or walk. The hotel rooms are very large and reasonably priced. Our only complaint is about the complimentary breakfast. It was very sparse and unappetizing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aputti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hello everyone,
I stayed at the Grand Beach with another adult and a toddler child (June 6-8). This hotel is not horrible but is not great and there is definitely better out there. As for the good things, the beach was great and the housekeeping team is very good - nice clean rooms which is very important. For the not so good things, 1) The walls here are VERY thin - you can hear everything - car doors, hotel doors, people talking down the hallway - if you have small children that go to bed early or nap don't stay here, 2) The continental breakfast (if that's what they call it) very small - they have 100 rooms and 2 waffle makers and some toast and cereal. It was really bad. There was a huge lineup for the waffle makers and took forever to get any food. My major issue with this hotel is the unfriendliness of the hotel staff and the atmosphere. I thought this was a family hotel but it actually is a party hotel. If you have a family / kids, go to the Cherry Tree for the same price. There was a huge party on our floor and when I complained that we were up half the night the staff seemed annoyed that I called - they didn't stop the noise and when I called back they said it was quiet. It took another call for them to do anything about it. They just didn't care. A hotel has no control over who books but you should care if there is a party bothering an entire floor. Also, we stayed in a Family Suite which was nice for a toddler but it was a very odd layout. The bedroom with no windows was great for my toddler napping but it was open to the sinks and then the bathroom was between two pocket doors and virtually in the living area so no privacy, very odd. So all in all some goods things and bad things. I won't be staying here again, I will be trying the other family friendly resorts on the waterfront. Hope this review was helpful and send me a message if you have more questions. Good luck.

Room Tip: The family suite has a very odd layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 350FrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed one night and found the staff warmand friendly.
this is right on the beach and there are nice amenities at the resort.
The rooms are large and comfortable. there is ample parking. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skifree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
374 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,501 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.6 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 1683 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3741
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £58 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Grand Beach Resort Hotel is one of the finest waterfront lodging facilities located on the beautiful beaches of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City, Michigan. Greet the stunning sunrise or relax to a gorgeous sunset from the privacy of your own balcony or patio overlooking more than 300’ of sugar sand beach being caressed by the waves of East Bay. This Resort is perfect for enjoying water sports, local shopping, and the best of eateries, wineries and breweries. You can also enjoy the plentiful amenities such as an indoor pool, hot tub, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, fitness center and more to make your stay not only enjoyable but memorable for years to come. The newly renovated rooms offer our guests pillow-top mattresses, a mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and in-room safe. From larger suites that can accommodate up to 6 people comfortably, that includes a lovely leisure living area, to more intimate rooms with a king bed and a sofa; there is sure to be a room to fit your vacation or business trip needs. Welcome to Grand Beach Resort Hotel where your search can end and your adventure can begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Traverse City
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing