We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect B&B on Old Mission Peninsula”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse
Ranked #4 of 18 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect B&B on Old Mission Peninsula”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse for three days and had a wonderful time. The location of the inn is in a fantastic location -- close to wineries and wonderful restaurants and also only about a 15 minute drive to TC. Our room at the Inn was great. It was very spacious, comfortable, clean, and quiet. We had a great view of the vineyards as well. The amenities at the Inn were top notch, including the snacks and wine that were provided in the room and the large breakfast selection available everyday in the breakfast room. Will definitely return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GretchenP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
112
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a great weekend celebrating our anniversary. A fantastic location. It's easy to get to other parts of Mission Peninsula and into Traverse City. The room was great - very comfortable, quiet and clean with a wonderful view of the vineyards!! The wine tasting offered was excellent. Our host was very knowledgeable. Getting a chance to enjoy a complimentary bottle in our room every night was a great touch! Breakfast had lots of options, though it is a help yourself set up. We liked that we weren't locked into having to be ready at a specific time to get breakfast. But, if you're looking for a cooked to order breakfast then you won't find it.

We often say we won't go back to a place because we like to try something new on our next trip, even if we enjoyed ourselves. The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse is one place that we will come back to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Davidkcc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Old Mission Peninsula is a beautiful location with great wineries, and places to eat. Chateau Grand Traverse is especially nice for a place to stay. Very clean, lots of space, and a breakfast room that is open 24/7 for breakfast, snacks or coffee. With the free bottle of wine each night and the souvenir wine glasses and coffee mugs it is a real value.

We left with just a couple suggestions. One, have an attendant available in the breakfast room from 8 to 10 am., and second stock some soda, even if there was a charge.

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 2, and 3 overlook the West Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Woody451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattawan, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What an awesome stay that we had!! Our room was very clean and organized and stocked with delicious treats! Breakfast was very enjoyable and had just about everything offered that you could imagine. Location was close to restaurants and we went skiing at Crystal Mountain which was not too far of a drive away. We have recommended the Chateau to many of our friends and are very much looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CJS_12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard City, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I looked for two days to find a place to stay in the Traverse City area that was not either ungodly expensive or some dirty, generic chain hotel. I was THRILLED to find The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse! Our room was SO incredibly beautiful, my fav colors and everything. And even my husband noticed how spotlessly clean it was! I have never been a fan of Bed and Breakfasts because I like to have a lot of privacy, that was what I loved about this stay! It was so quiet and peaceful with only the 6 rooms/guests like a b&b, but yet, you had lots of amenities and privacy.

The rooms have snacks (cereal bars, popcorn), some of the best coffee ever!! And each room receives a free bottle of wine every night from the winery. Spectacular. This is the ONLY place I will ever stay in TC again! Every night we sat on our private balcony overlooking Bowers Harbor and watched the sunset! It was the best trip we have ever had!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Wine in the Garden" room, and it was so beautiful! Our balcony had a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgis, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Inn in late March and took advantage of their "weekday 2 nights for the price of one during Jan, Feb, and March." As it turned out, we were the only guests while we were there, so we had use of the whole Inn! Our room was lovely, the breakfasts were great, and we really enjoyed the complementary bottle of wine each day. We watched the snowfall across the vineyard from our balcony. The Inn is great any time of the year! We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: Each room is different with a slightly different view - all are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BoilerFan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Park
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Generally agree with the other reviewers. Couple of items didn't see mentioned in recent reviews, they a very strong wifi connection (free) even out on the decks which was really nice for handling e mail, reading the paper online etc all while relaxing on the deck.

The Inn is very quiet, although it's near the visitor's center and administrative building, it's nestled down a short downhill drive, surrounded by trees, once at the Inn it is not even evident there are other buildings on-site. Very nice service from staff, etc.

They also have a washer and dryer on site which is handy. A small frig is in the common area w/ yogurt, snacks and juice, nice if you need a little something and the breakfast room is closed. Really appreciated there are many extras here but you don't get charged $5.00 for every use like at most standard hotels (this is not a standard hotel).

They also have a self serve wine bar which is a neat feature and fits right in w/ the winery (serving the Chateau's own wines). This is not free but a nice touch.

If you don't mind sharing common areas w/ other guests (all we stayed w/ were very friendly) this is a great place to stay as the common areas are very large and well appointed w/ the private guest rooms being more than adequate.

Rooms 1 - 3 face the bay and 4 - 6 face woods / vineyards. Would not hesitate to stay again; one of the best non-condo / house lodgings I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grossepointebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
8.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
7.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse

Property: The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse
Address: 12301 Center Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-8558
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse is located next to Chateau Grand Traverse Winery just 8 miles north of Traverse City on beautiful Old Mission Peninsula. We offer secluded and relaxed countryside lodging that caters exclusively to an adult-only clientele. Our six well-appointed guest rooms provide the perfect getaway for romantic couples, small groups, or even mini corporate retreats. Nestled in a tranquil wooded setting, guests can unwind at the end of the day with a complimentary bottle of Chateau Grand Traverse wine while enjoying the panoramic views from their own private balcony. Each guest room is contemporary in style and offers an array of comfort amenities to make your stay pleasant. We also provide free wireless Internet to ensure that you can keep in touch while enjoying your winery lodging experience. To maintain a healthy environment for everyone, our entire facility is smoke-free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Chateau Grand Traverse Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing