We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We try to stay here whenever possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My wife and I just finished a short Northern Michigan getaway. We had planned 2 days inITraverse City and 2 days at another Northern town. After getting into our room and seeing the view of Grand Traverse Bay we remembered why we almost always book the Cherry Tree. The room was spotless, breakfast was excellent and the service was impeccable. You are always greeted with a "Good morning, good afternoon, etc".

Remembering that Traverse is a tourist community the Cherry Tree is not the cheapest place to stay. You can stay on the other side of the road with a great view of the parking lot. Staying at the Cherry Tree is money well spent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joebsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2011

Happy 4th of July!

Thank you for your kind review of the Cherry Tree and continually staying with us when you visit Traverse City. We're so glad to know that you find us always clean and consistent. That's our aim always. The Cherry Tree family will be happy to read your comments. Have a wonderful summer!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,114 - 3,120 of 3,349 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

Pros: AWESOME view from room, nice indoor pool/hot tub, yummy breakfast included, super friendly staff, nice library/reading room, nice hotel room, comfortable beds, clean, putting green, shallow beach all the way to probably 1/5 mile from shore, multiple free newspapers, PS2's in the rooms (games are rentals)

Cons: workout room needs an upgrade/better equipment, beach is narrow/soggy between white sand and the water (hotel maintains it well though - just wish there was more white sand all the way to the water), no restaurant, a bit far from downtown Traverse City/Sleeping Bear Dunes

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michigander04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for your thorough and kind review. We really appreciate it when guests take the time to tell us about their stays. In regards to your concerns, we do have future plans on an upgraded and possibly enlarged fitness center. Right now, our cardio equipment is simple, but we do have future plans to upgrade equipment to better suit our guests exercise needs.

We do wish we could add more sand to the lower part of our beach, but, unfortunately, we have to follow state and federal restrictions. The top part is so nice and sandy and that lower portion is hard, wet packed sand. We do care for it, and it's looking good this year, but we certainly would like all fluffy sand throughout. The good side of a hard-packed sand area is that it makes beach volleyball or throwing a football around a little less strenuous to run on! :) Plus the west side natural area is a great place for children to explore the creek along our property and see ducks, frogs, and a variety of other neat wildlife (we often have two bald eagles that fish off the points of our beach area).

I'm really happy you enjoyed so many of our amenities. We are continuing through this year with adding more and making our property exceed our guest expectation. We'll look forward to you visiting again. Have a wonderful and fun summer!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a pretty nice stay at the Cherry Tree Inn. We did have a problem with our room (one of the bedspreads on the beds was dirty and there was very long hair left in the shower from a previous guest). When we complained we were offered a new room or someone would come and clean our room. We choose to change rooms. The new room was cleaner. The manager was very helpful. The pool area was very nice as was the hot tub. Breakfast was nice, as stated in previous reviews. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank pair-of-bears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Hello!

I'm so sorry to hear about those misses by our housekeeping team. I assure you that's an irregular mishap with them, but I do greatly apologize for the inconvenience we caused you. I do appreciate your review and telling us. I'm very pleased you enjoyed everything else with our hotel and that you still recommend us. We will be sure to work hard so mistakes in our housekeeping don't happen and affect guest stays. Thank you!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We paid $104 for the Elk Rapids Studio room. It was on the fourth floor and included a private balcony overlooking the bay, a small refrigerator and microwave. And, the rate included breakfast for the three of us. Breakfast was very good - hard-boiled eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels & english muffins, coffee & tea, and four or five kinds of cereal + milk. The beds, pillows, and sheets were very comfortable. At the front lobby door, I noticed umbrellas out for guests to use during their stay - a nice touch. The lobby and rooms were immaculate, and the staff well-trained. Overall, a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFlyingMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Hello!

Thank you for your review. I'm very pleased with your comments and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for noticing the umbrella's. It's a touch we thought our guests would really like - it seems that it rains only when it knows our guests are dressed nicely, ready to go to a dinner in town, and don't have an umbrella handy. Funny how that works. :) Thank you again. Have a wonderful rest of your June - hard to believe it's half-way done.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Rooms were very spacious and clean, great layout for families. We brought our 3 young kids and they had a great time- the beach is perfect for families- close, quiet, shallow and clean water- you can walk out at least 50 yards and the water never went above our knees! Breakfast was great, service was awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casulli412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Good Day!

Thank you so much for your review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and found our beaceh area perfect for your family. With our shallower waters, it certainly eases parents worries for drop-off points in the bay. I'm glad you enjoyed our service and the breakfast too. Have a great day and wonderful summer with your family!

Best,

Jonathan P
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We planned on staying at the Inn1 night but stayed 2 because we loved the room. Our spa room was on the 5th floor with a lake view. It had a large Jacuzzi in the room, along with a comfortable king size bed, sitting area and a fireplace. There was a balcony overlooking the water but it was too cool for us to enjoy it. Breakfast was excellent. My favorite were the hot cherries to put on the waffles! Everything in the Inn was light, clean and inviting.

Room Tip: We requested a water view room, a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Good day!

Thank you for taking the time out of your, I'm sure, busy schedule. We really, really appreciate it, and the staff always enjoys reading the comments.

I'm so happy you enjoyed one of our many rooms with Jacuzzis. The big tub with great jets just entice you to stay that extra day, huh? It's a huge marketing ploy we have (I'm kidding of course). I'm glad you enjoyed the warm cherries for our ready-to-make Belgian waffles. In July, we offer fresh locally-picked cherries at our Front Desk throughout the days- those are wonderful, too!

Thank you again. I hope you have a wonderful summer, enjoying the sun and activities it will offer this year!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

clean rooms -helpful staff-great view of bay--catered to runners of bayshore with early breakfast at 4:30 am and shuttle service to the start of run all this on memorial weekend--experienced the same last year during cherry festival week

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank central1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

Hello and Happy June!

Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad we're consistent for your stays, Thank you for noticing our new shuttle service we offer only to our guests. It's a unique service that we just started the week before Memorial Day, and we're excited to offer complimentary shuttling to downtown, the casino, and the airport. We'll also offer it for special events like the Bayshore Marathon and 4th of July Fireworks.

The breakfast is another thing we wanted to do to ensure our athletes competing in the marathon have the right fuel at the right time for a good race.

Thank you again for your review. I hope you have a nice June and that we'll see you again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
365 reviews
0.8 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £80 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City hotel, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree’s smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a free breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, free high-speed wireless Internet access, free shuttle service (based on driver availability), 24-hour indoor pool, hot tub, and dry sauna, year round outdoor hot tub, seasonal outdoor pool, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, numerous comfy pillows, HD TV’s, bedside docking stations, Seattle’s Best in-room coffee, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City’s best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing