We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, great staff-good for business and family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
bloomfield hill
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice location, great staff-good for business and family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed here with my family in mid-December. My son took advantage of the indoor pool and small arcade room. I was happy that there was a nice breakfast nook area-they even let my colleague join me for a light breakfast. We ate dinner at the excellent Red Mesa, which is very close. Great location on the water (it wasn't snowing or too cold, so we took a quick stroll around the back of the property). It is not a high-end property, but the whole hotel has a bright, pleasant decor and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They have great rates, especially for the off-season. The manager went above the call of duty and assisted me in getting a shuttle to work one morning-I can imagine that this would be difficult to do in the high season, but it was still very nice of him! Overall, it enhanced our stay in TC (despite no snow, skiing nor tubing due to the extremely mild weather).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Good day!

Thank you for your kind review, and I'm happy that you found us to be nice hotel for your business travels. Most think of us as a family hotel, which we are, but we also cater well to business travelers. And we're only improving on all amenities to create a high-quality hotel with our renovations this winter. Be sure to come and check them out soon. Thank you again!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,853
    692
    188
    50
    26
See reviews for
849
1,366
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swartz Creek, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Recently spent a Sunday/Monday at the Cherry Tree and have stayed here several times before. It is is a very warm and friendly place. The 2nd floor lakeview, corner room is my favorite! Always extremely clean! and very comfy. The amenities are numerous including coffee, in-room safe and refridge, and indoor pool/hot tub. The complimentary breakfast is VERY generous. We always make it a point to stay here when we area visiting in the Traverse City area.

Room Tip: Love the lake view rooms, 2nd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Hello!

Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and all of our amenities. We'll be happy to welcome you back soon so you can enjoy our new improvements!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at Leelanau Suite during the holiday season for 5 days. The room was very spacious and it was very nice to have a jacuzzi in the bedroom. Everytime we turned heater or fireplace on it made the room very dry so we filled up the jacuzzi tub with warm water. That made a huge difference! Some furniture was kinda outdated but that didn't bother us much. The suite was located on the 3rd floor so it had a great view of the lake. Free continental breakfast and wi-fi were also nice and all staff members were friendly, prompt and helpful.

When I reserved the room via their online reservation system, I somehow ended up with a little bit better rate than what their website says. So when I was trying to checkout, the front desk staff noticed the error. The difference was about $30 so I didn't mind paying a little extra but they honored the rate I got when I reserved the room. Small thing like this makes a huge difference. I will definitely go back Cherry Tree again!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a jacuzzi tub if you stay in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajirael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Good day!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. The Leelanau Suites are wonderful and large rooms - I'm glad you found them that way, too! You'll be excited to know that we have a large renovation about to commence in February and March. We're doing a lot of great updates that will take the Cherry Tree to another level of quality and the Cherry Tree Family will continue to improve on our 5-star service focus!

Have a wonderful January and winter!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have visited the Cherry Tree Inn for the past several years for the "Ladies Weekend". What a great value. From the welcome reception with wine, appetizers and massages to the informative classes on saturday and boxed lunch, everything is always top notch! Jonathan, the Manager, always goes the extra mile to ensure that your stay is perfect from beginning to end. The rooms are beautiful with great rooms of the bay, the pool and hot tub are always crystal clean and relaxing and the rooms are always immaculate and cozy. We love the shuttle to and from the casino. What a bonus.

Forget chain hotels. Go to the Cherry Tree Inn and discover what personal service and pampering are all about!

Room Tip: I would definitely get a suite. The views of the water are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Hello and thank you for your kind review of our Women's Weekend. It's a passion and pleasure of mine and the Cherry Tree Family to provide quality hospitality every day. It makes our jobs a joy everyday!

You'll be happy to see that we'll have our March Women's Weekend details up shortly on our website. Check for those details this week and for details on our property renovations coming soon!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The room was very large and clean!!!! Beds were comfortable. Staff was nice. The eating area could have been bigger, food was good. Swimming pool area not the best. Beach nice for families with small children, water was very shallow. Hotel very close to downtown area. We went in the spring of 2011 Traffic at times was bad trying to leave the hotel. The hotel is located on major highway going in and out of Traverse City. The room rate was very low for having room on the beach with balcony. We stayed four nights and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spanky0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Good day!

Thank you for your review. It always pleases us to hear that guests have enjoyed their stays and it pleases us to know what things we can improve.

We hope you come visit again. Renovations are planned and will be completed in the next few months. We're very excited to share the updates with our guests!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I didn't know what to expect since I had never stayed in Traverse City and this isn't a chain hotel. We were impressed! The rooms are HUGE and the views are outstanding! The rooms are very clean and the staff was exceptionally kind. The manager even drove us in a shuttle van downtown for New Years Eve- what a lifesaver!
We had to check out early to miss a blizzard coming in (Northern MI winter, you can expect snow but you don't want to get stranded!) but we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A2Trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Hello!

Thank you for your review and choosing our hotel. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our large rooms, clean property, and kind staff. They will be very happy to read your review. And I was happy to shuttle you downtown on New Years Eve.

Thank you so much. Have a wonderful January!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel has spacious rooms, although they could use a renovation and get updated. You can easily drive into Traverse City and the peninusla. Our only complaint was that you could really hear your neighbors clearly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amnsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

You should be happy to know that renovations are in the works. We are putting new carpet in all of our hallways and common areas. We are also painting all hallways, taking down and replacing all wall vinyl in the hallways and many rooms, adding wood floors in parts of our hallways and lobby library, updating bedding, and much more. We have a lot of work that we plan to have completed in the next few months - including our new outdoor pool and hot tub scheduled to be completed this spring. I think you and many will enjoy the new look and feel of our property.

I apologize, too, that you could hear your neighbors clearly. This isn't very common with our property since we have 8-inch concrete walls between two-inch styro-foam blocks. But I apologize that there was some sound coming through. We will work to correct any areas of the hotel that we find we can correct to create a quieter environment.

Thank you again. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and do come visit again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing