We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Michigan Autumn - 39th Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Michigan Autumn - 39th Wedding Anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Our first stay here.It was a nice weekend dispite some rain.Our room was very nice.We were expecting a sleighbed that was pictured on-line but read in the advertising material in the room that they had remodeled so we thought that is why there was no sleighbed.We both said they should have told us that...especially since they knew it was our anniversary,when we booked the room.We later found out in these two suites only one had the sleighbed.
I loved the "beekind" luxury products.The view was so beautiful from our room..the beach...water...and everchanging sky.I don't want to sound like we spent all of our time (2 days) in our room...please do dine at Amical resturant.A wonderful pleasure to the senses. Check out the many wineries and sample the fruits of their labor.Enjoy the countryside.Michigan is so beautiful this time of year.Bring home a bottle of Cherry wine for in front of the fireplace in your room...and several to take home to remember your stay in Traverse City.
Breakfast was more than ample...cherries on waffle is a good choice while staying at the Cherry Tree Inn and Suites..in the cherry capitol-Travers City,Michagan.The staff friendly and helpful.
The main thing I wish to stress...is that the General Manager- Jonathon Pack strives to have the best staff and Hotel...he goes above and beyond to make your stay-experience at Cherry Tree Inn and Suites truly a wonderful memory. We would stay again if ever in the area.Thank-you all.

Room Tip: Pick a beach view with balcony it is worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Good fall day!

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and kind review of your stay. I apologize for the miscommunication we have regarding our Lake Michigan Studios. We do have one that has a sleigh bed and one that doesn't. Both rooms have the same wonderful amenities (Jacuzzi, king pillow-top bed, fireplace, couch, and balcony overlooking the bay). I will look to see how we can improve on our communication for that. Thank you for mentioning it.

I'm glad you enjoyed our luxury bath products, too. We really go with quality when purchasing these BeeKind Gilchrist and Soames bath products. They are high end and just fit really well with our hotel and our guests.

Finally, thank you for your kind words about me. What's a hotel without great service and amenities. I'm proud to have such a fantastic support around me - the Cherry Tree Family is definitely my strongest and best tool that I have. Without them, this hotel doesn't perform to anyone's expectations

Thank you again for your stay and I hope you have a wonderful rest of the year. Congratulations on your 39th anniversary - come visit again for your 40th!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,917
    709
    193
    50
    26
See reviews for
874
1,409
52
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

This was our first time of staying at this hotel and we loved it! It had an indoor/outdoor swimming pool and hot tub that looked nice, but we were to busy to use, and the rooms were really big with the 2 queen beds. Our friends had a king bed and it was a little smaller room. It had a mini frig., microwave and little sink w/a coffee maker. It also had a little TV in the bathroom. They had a hot breakfast that was included also; like waffles and sausage and biscuit gravy. It was all very good. Our maid even left a very nice hand written note on our bed when we got back to our room later that evening, and said that if we needed anything, to let her know. The beds were really comfy also. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The 2 queen bedrooms are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchr0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Hello!

Thank you so much for you recent stay. It's so nice that you had a great stay and were able to use and notice so many of our amenities. The housekeeping team will be happy to hear that you also noticed their note to you. They leave those often to welcome our guests - part of their hospitality that I love having in our teams.

I hope you have a nice rest of fall and that you come up and enjoy us again sometime this winter.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapin, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn in October 2012. It was absolutely perfect. Everyone was so kind and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was very good. We have stayed in numerous hotels including some 5 star resorts and this place ranks up there with the best. We will definitely stay there again. My sincere thanks to the entire staff for making our weekend so pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Good October day!

Thank you so much for your stay and your very kind review. I'm thrilled, and so is the Cherry Tree Family, that you hold our stay in such high regards. We will continue to work to do even better. Thank you very much and have a wonderful rest of the year. We'll be happy to you welcome to back again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTON SHORES
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at this property a year ago and again this fall. We were not disappointed. This hotel is meticulously maintained. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect with a beautiful view of the bay. Even the grounds surrounding the hotel are well maintained. This is a five-star rating all around. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOYGIRL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I'm pleased that we didn't disaapoint you and that you had a great time. We'll be happy to welcome you back. Have a wonderful rest of fall!

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stay at the Cherry Tree Inn every year in the fall. Our anniversary is in September, so this an annual visit. This year was the same as in previous years. Excellent service, very clean and a beautiful hotel. We love this hotel.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are a must. The higher levels are nicer, because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvkrieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hello!

Well, we love you for sharing your absolutely wonderful marital accomplishment at our hotel. That is truly marvelous and we wish you many more years of a happy marriage - you're doing something right - that's for sure.

I hope you have a wonderful rest of the year and we'll be happy to have you return for your 56th anniversary.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

My family and I discovered Cherry Tree Inn & Suites in Traverse City, MI quite by accident, but we're sure glad we did. We stayed there for the weekend to participate in the Sleeping Bear Half-Marathon and to take in the autumn colors. Every employee we came in contact with was friendly, courteous, and gave us excellent service with a smile. We came away with the feeling that they wanted to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Our room (including the bathroom) was spotless. Very spacious and comfortable for our family of four. The continental breakfast offered lots of choices and was outstanding, including the coffee. The complimentary newspaper, chocolate chip cookies, and lemon and lime ice water by the front desk was much appreciated. In short, our stay at the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites offered us outstanding value, product, and customer service. We'll be coming back again! John V Plymouth, MI

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hi Mr. V.!

Good afternoon and thank you! I'm always pleased and very fortunate to read so many happy guest reviews. Thank you for offering your insight and mentioning some of the smaller things we do (flavored water, cookies at the desk, staff trying their hardest) to make our guests stays the very best in Traverse City.

I wish you a very pleasent rest of the year. Thank you again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Excellent hotel, we stayed in the Mackinaw Suite, room was very clean, spacious and a beautiful view of the harbor with a balacony to relax on. Great location to get around town and go shopping. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Hello!

Thank you for your stay in the Mackinac Island Suite. I like those suites because they are top (5th) floor of our main building and have great views of the bay and Old Mission Peninsula.

Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and I hope you get a chance to come visit Traverse City again soon.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing