We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach Front” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beach Front”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I found this hotel by chance. We got lucky enough to get a Beach View room and found it very relaxing to walk out of the hotel onto the beach and sit on the water in the provided beach chairs. Although the weather was clear, it was a little to cool to swim so my wife wants to go back next summer. The complimentary breakfast buffet had something for everyone, and was well stocked and fresh all morning. We look forward to returning for another stay at this fine hotel.

Room Tip: The waterfront view is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Good evening!

I'm glad that chance was on your and our side! Thank you for being our guest and I'm happy to read that you were able to enjoy the views and some nice weather while you visited. Do come explore the area again soon - always something to do. Have a wonderful rest of your October!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,853
    692
    188
    50
    26
See reviews for
849
1,366
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bad Axe, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Cherry Tree Inn for the first time 9/25-9/28/13. The room was very clean and the views were great. We did have one problem with the sink draining slow the first night of our visit. We notified the front desk. The next day after returning from a day of activities, we were very pleased to find the drain flowing great. At so many places you have to complain several times to get service, but they were right on the ball. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. which made for a very relaxing vacation.

Green Features: They said to leave any recyclable items next to the trash and they would recycle them.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badhair56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your stay and your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed the views and our cleanliness. I do apologize for the slow drain. We are just about to start our deep cleans and preventative maintenance programs in our rooms (now that it's just about to get a bit slower for the area and we can get into our rooms for more extended care). We will continue to work on those items like a slow drain to make sure they are not affecting future guests.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ortonville, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have stayed at the hotel for about 7 years in a row, we loved everything about stay, with the exception of our cleaning person. After the saturday morning cleaning we noticed the room was not cleaned as well as it normally is. And on sunday morning at 9:40 am we were having our coffee and relaxing when the door opened, and the cleaning lady walked in...she never knocked, she just walked in, that was very unprofessional...and a little rude!

Other than that our stay was a very enjoyable visit, your hotel is well kept and you seem to make improvements on a regular bases. Over the years we have noticed new mattresses, flat screen tv's, and ipod docking stations, new lawn and beach chairs, all improvements which were needed and welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Good October Day!

Thank you for time and writing a review of your stay. I'm terribly sorry for the incorrect procedures and service the housekeeping team member provided. I have shown the team your review and they will improve and follow the steps that we have outlined for them on how we knock and enter rooms for stayover service (we always knock and announce two times and then open a crack and announce one more time before fully entering the room - this individual definitely follow those processes).

I'm happy everything else was enjoyable and that you continue to notice all of our improvements we do on a regular basis. We have more updates coming this winter! Just you wait! :)

Thank you and have a wonderful rest of your fall.

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I were extremely delighted with our stay. Everything about it was perfect. The rooms were beautiful. The view of the bay, the huge Jacuzzi tub, the soft comfortable beds. Even the pull out bed from the couch was great, our 5 year old loved it. Being able to just sit and relax on the balcony overlooking the bay while drinking delicious blueberry tea, and cherry coffee (supplied by Cherry Tree Inn) was perfect. Even the tv in the bathroom was amusing. The breakfast was hands down the best breakfast we've ever had from a hotel. Everything you could want is there: Fresh juices, fresh fruit (we're talking pineapple, strawberries....not just cheap blah melons and cantaloupe ;) ), a make your own waffle machine with a crock pot full of cherries and cans of whip cream for toppings. Delicious Traverse City flavored coffees, a wonderful variety of teas, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, eggs, sausage. Just everything you could imagine. The pool and hot tub are also great. There's even a snack shoppe room full of extra goodies for kids and adults to enjoy, and a lounge area with free board games, etc. The employees are extremely friendly and helpful and they really know the area. If there's a place you need to get to they will give you a map and show you right where to go. They can even give great recommendations on places to go, things to see and do. Even when its started to rain during our stay they supplied us with umbrellas. If you ever need a place to stay while in Traverse City, this is definitely the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_Rose_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Good evening!

Thank you for your stay and your very kind review. It's thrilling to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we had everything clicking just right to make your time in Traverse City enjoyable.

I'm glad you noticed all the good stuff we offer on our breakfast - I hope you got to try one of our new flavored waffles, too!

I'm also happy you noticed and used one of our umbrella's - nothing more kick-yourself-about-it than forgetting an umbrella when you travel. We've all done that I'm sure! :)

Have a wonderful fall and I hope you come visit our great area again soon.

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We loved the Cherry Tree Inn and Suites! From check in to check out it was awesome. The staff was friendly. We loved the fresh cookies and the 24 hour hot chocolate. The indoor and outdoor pools were great. We stayed in the Walloon lake suite. It was a spacious room with a balcony overlooking the bay. It was beautiful! Only problem was the living room housed the air conditioner, it kept that room cold while the bedroom was not cool. There was no way to get the cold air to the bedroom. Breakfast was great. Just wish there were eggs every day. The beach was awesome we loved the beach chairs and umbrellas. We will be back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traveling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. I'm really glad that you loved our hotel so much - we tend to feel the same way about it! :)

I do apologize for the poor air flow in the suite you had. We are working on ways we can improve that.

We'll be happy to welcome you back to the Cherry Tree and Traverse City. It's a special area (and we think a special hotel!). Thank you!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hibbing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in September and I couldn't ask for any more in a hotel. The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, it was very clean, and it was right on the lake. Plus it was very affordable, with our third night being half priced!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheaties59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Good evening!

Thank you for your kind review and I'm so glad you found our hotel to be an excellent value. Glad you took advantage of our little special we offered you on a slower night, too! It's always good to spend more time in the Traverse City area to explore or relax! Have a wonderful rest of fall.

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vassar, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Although it has been six months I felt i needed to let others know how fantastic this hotel was! From our arrival until leaving there wasn't a single problem. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and the views were fantastic. We enjoyed being located between the casino and the town! Every staff member was welcoming and the pool was nice! We are already planning our return visit next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmb2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your thoughtfulness in writing a review of your stay 6 months later. I truly appreciate that - it's not something we expect and it's even more of a surprise when you feel you want to write a review after such a period of time.

I 'm really happy that you enjoyed every bit of your stay and that our amenities and Cherry Tree Family made it just right for your trip to Traverse City.

We'll be very happy to welcome you back next year. Thank you again for the kind review and have a wonderful fall!

Best,

Jonathan Pack
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing