We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cool place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a cool place”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We came to town for my sister's wedding and found this place online while planning the drive out. We loved it. It is right on the water with amazing views. The staff was nice and the room was as advertised. A few bucks more then the local motel but well worth it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JTACP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Good afternoon!

Thank you for your time reviewing your stay with us. Glad you found it to be cool and that our staff was nice! I hope you sister had a wonderful wedding and that you made it home safely. Thank you again so much!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,040
    744
    199
    52
    27
See reviews for
923
1,476
56
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed here for a weekend and we were very happy with our stay. The staff was great, we called in a few days before because we needed to check in a little early, they said it was no problem and the day of our arrival they called us to let us know the room was ready. They did forget the extra bed but it wasn't a problem they brought it up a little later. The room was very clean and spacious with a great view of the lake. We all enjoyed the breakfast, it had many options to choose from that changed daily. I loved that they had both an indoor and outdoor hot tub and pool. It did rain so it was nice to relax in the indoor hot tub. They provide chairs and and umbrella at the small private beach which was really nice, it was a little muddy but not that bad. The hotel is in a great location too, not far from some great restaurants, putt putt, and parks. Overall it's a great hotel but a little to pricey, I wouldn't have stayed here if I wasn't splitting the price with four others.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good afternoon!

Thank you so much for your stay and your review. I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay - from our service to our amenities. I'm sorry that you felt it was a bit pricey, though. Unfortunately, Traverse City has become extremely popular in the summer. Our focus is on providing great value for rates that are similar to or less than other hotels in the area. We're proud to provide more amenities and higher quality amenities (HD TV's with HD channel programming and full HBO line-up, luxury bath soaps, Starbucks coffee in the rooms, Leelanau Coffee Roasting Company coffee - including cherry coffee - in our lobby 24 hours, Tazo teas in our rooms and lobby, two pools and two spas, shuttle service, and more). We will continue to make sure we are providing great amenities, top service, and competitive rates always. Thank you for your review and stay. Have a great end of August!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Do to the small size of my house and the awkward location every year I rent a hotel room and invite friends over to hang out in it and two to stay the night. I've done this for a few years now and stayed in some not so nice hotels. This hotel was absutely one hundred percent perfect!
The hotel staff was respectful and helpful, even going as far to wish me a happy birthday. The room was far better than I thought I was getting considering the price. The pool was phenomenal and they had coffee with flavored creamers!
All considering I will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doctor_Hedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello Sweet 16-er! :)

Thank you for your recent stay and your kind review. So glad that we exceeded your expectations and I hope you have a wonderful return party next year. We're happy that you enjoyed our staff, our rooms, and our coffee and creamers!

Have a nice Labor Day and thank you so much!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel has some nice features. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the lake view was pleasant, but frankly, the whole package was not worth the money. We paid a similar price as we have paid for a very nice hotel room in London, England, Barcelona, Spain, and Venice, Italy. and while Traverse City is pleasant, staying there doesn't warrant a level of expense equivalent to a hotel in a major European tourist destination. The breakfast isn't any better than the one you get at a Fairfield Inn or Country Inn and Suites. Today's offering consisted of biscuits and gravy; yesterday's was sausage patties and potatoes. No cooked eggs or breakfast sandwiches either day. C'mon people, can't you do better for the price? The check-in experience was poor; our room wasn't ready and while waiting in their lobby, no one came to tell us the room was ready; we had to go back to the desk and ask. Overall, disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid any room with a view of the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good day!

Thank you for your review and your stay. I'm really sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We will certainly look at ways we can provide more value for the amount paid for our rooms. We do price our rooms equal or lower to other beach-front hotels in the area but we like to provide more amenities than most others - like two pools and spas, high-quality coffee in our lobby and in our rooms (Starbucks in the rooms and Leelanau Coffee Roasting in the lobby and breakfast), HD TV's with HD cable and full HBO line-up, Fiber Internet, beach-front amenities like fire pits, lounge chairs with cabanas, watercraft rentals, and more. We also offer complimentary shuttle service, too. And we do offer egg and sausage patties as well - they are offered every third day - we like to rotate our hot items to offer variety on our breakfast to go with all of our other items.

I am sorry, though, that better care wasn't done for your check-in experience. Normally, we take names and phone numbers and communicate the best we can. Your room should have been ready at check-in time, and for that I am sorry. I will work on both issues to better help all of our guests in the future.

Thank you for your review - it will greatly help us improve and do more for our guests. I do hope you come and visit our gorgeous area once again.

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family and I stayed in a suite and although it was nice, it was not worth the price. Whoever said they have the BEST beach in Traverse City were so wrong.The staff was not very friendly and didnt seem to like kids. I will say though,that the breakfast was good and the library was a nice touch too. Overall, if you want to go for the beach, go to Grand or Sugar Beach which is where we ended up.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deedollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good evening!

Thank you for your stay and your review. I'm terribly sorry for the poor service you experienced. That's certainly not to our expectations and not what you should have experienced. And we certainly do love kids - many of our staff have kids and love seeing and playing with them. That's part of the reason we have so many kid-friendly activities around the hotel and grounds like board games and books in our library, Sony Playstation 2's in our rooms, a playground on our beach, and more.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy our beach. We are affected by heavy federal government restrictions. While we have 400 feet of sand on the top portion of our beach, the lower portion is heavily restricted and split into two sections - 200 feet of natural grass area and another 200 feet of hard-packed sand leading to the water's edge. We are lucky to have lots of space and shallow waters for kids to play in. We certainly would like more sand in the area and have it look like Grand and Sugar Beach's beaches, but, unfortunately, we are not allowed to add sand into the lower area due to federal restrictions. However, we are happy to have the area we have and it's certainly family friendly.

Thank you again for your stay and we will work better to provide excellent service every day - I did address this with my staff this week. Thank you!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our very first trip to traverse city. Cherry Inn was a wonderful place to stay, I would recommend to any friends or family. The staff , polite, courteous. Place was immaculately clean. The continental breakfast was great, lots to choose from, recommend you do that early if you can . This was a 2 nights just my husband and I, there is a lot of families with kids. But we didn't mind at all because of how lovely this hotel is. You need to drive to go shopping downtown, but not far at all. There really isnt anywhere to take a walk as they are located at the end. Has this small tv area with teas and coffees thats available all night.

Room Tip: Room on lower level are walkout units
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent , linen reuse program organic shampoos and lotions, tracks energy usage
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good evening!

Thank you so much for your stay with us and your review of our hotel! I'm really happy that you found our hotel so clean and that the staff was polite and courteous. Have a nice end of August and thank you for the nice picture, too! Hope you got a lot of great photos around our gorgeous area!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

As I am writing this, I have nothing but positive things to say about this place. Great place, great location! Not necessarily by downtown but close enough to everything. Rooms appear to be well kept and clean. Amenities are very reasonable with both an indoor and outdoor pool. They do have a game room and fitness room but its small. There is a bike/running trail across the street which is a plus. Another plus is that they have a boat rental booth on their property which you can rent kayaks, paddle boards, pontoon boats etc. Also, the lake water seems to stay real shallow for quite a distance before you hit the deep end which is good to know if you have little kids. I have a balcony facing the bay and its a nice view! Small private beach is also very nice. It's not a budget hotel but you get what you pay for right? Will be here for a few more days and I expect to be pleased with the rest of my stay here. I have already been recommending this place to family and friends!!

Room Tip: Balcony room with view of bay is very nice
See more room tips
Green Features: They do their share in trying to limit water waste and using recyclable products
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boytribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan P, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello!

I love your review that you're writing during your stay. I'm happy that you're enjoying it so far and I hope you continue to find other great hings to your liking. Please feel free to stop down and knock on my door and say "Hi" in the morning - or just make a funny face at me through my window. I'll enjoy either one!

Thank you!

For the love of hospitality,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing