We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just when we thought we could love this place more!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersSilver level
ferndale, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just when we thought we could love this place more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

This was our second long weekend visit to this hotel, and I would just like to thank the GM for helping to make a very special anniversary and marathon weekend, even more romantic and special.

I sent the Cherry Tree and email asking if I could ship a very special bottle of wine and bottle of champagne there to surprise my husband. The GM answered, and said he would love to do it. When we arrived to our room the bottles where set up with wine glasses, a special corkscrew for us to keep, and a divine box of chocolates (I paid just a few dollars and he added it to the set up). My husband was so suprised, and was in wonderment that I was so crafty to find a way to set that up. Little did he know that the GM orchestrated the set up above and beyond my request. The GM really made me feel like it was his utmost pleasure to help me out with my little surprise. Thank you so much! We will see you again soon.

We stayed in two rooms, one "lower grade" bayside room and our usual bayside suite because of availability. We were so happy with the regular bayside room. It was large and beautiful and had a great balcony. I would have to say its just as nice as the suite, with the exception of the jacuzzi, and fireplace. Also we got to use the hotel pool and hot tub this visit, and really enjoyed them. We really like the addition of the snack and sundry shop as well.

Here is my review below from our previous visit about our bayside suite:

Everything about it was enormous and beautiful from the carved wood furniture (amazing king sized bed) to a great whirlpool spa tub ect... We also loved the kitchenette and cabinets and extra blankets and pillows in the wicker chest to snuggle on the floor in front of the fireplace. There is no room service at this hotel, so all we really expected was an amazing room in a great location and that's exactly what we got. Also, we loved the fresh waffles we could make in the waffle maker in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tvrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,853
    691
    188
    50
    26
See reviews for
848
1,366
52
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We have stayed here many times before however it had been about 5 years since since our last visit. We were very happy to see the hotel hasn't changed. All staff members were friendly, rooms were spacious and clean, and the breakfast was well stocked with a nice selection. We were a little disappointed to see the waters of the Bay have receded so much and the beach areas overgrown (not the hotel's fault), but were happy to see a little space of cleared beach left and spent the mornings and evenings sitting out by the water--which was wonderful. Love the this hotel's location and the value and will definitely be staying here again in the near future!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellover94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 June 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed the staff, the breakfast, and the water. We do have a shallower area of waterfront, but it makes it nice because guests can walk out quite a ways without going over their knees. Plus it's safe for children. We are adding 5" of beach sand to our top portion next week, though! Just in time for July!

Thank you again. Have a wonderful summer, and we look forward to your return.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

The Good: . Our Family Suite, 2 futons w/ trundle that convert to 3 twin beds was just what we needed. The kids could play in the room and we didn't have to worry about them running into or breaking anything. The mini-kitchen was small, but functional. The pool was also small, but just right for our kids (ages 7, 3, 2). It took us a while to find where the beach was (all we saw at first was their grassy, natural shore area). Loved that they had a pirate ship playground. Wonderful breakfast. Loved the library with kids' books and toy games and the fresh cookies at the front desk. Also, lots of maps and brochures for nearby attractions like the Pirate's Cove Mini-Golf. Walgreens is across the street (Band-Aids or snacks, anyone?) and there is an ice-cream store within walking distance too.

The Average: Kind of far from Downtown Traverse City, but all the hotels were. I don't know if paying for our room during peak season (almost triple the price we payed) would be worth it. In the master bedroom, the A/C kept blowing in my face,so I had to sleep on my side.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yooperkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2010
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and it was the right fit for your family of kids. We do have many activities for kids to enjoy. From the board games, the pool (which is a good size for our hotel since we only have 76 rooms), the arcade, the putting green, the Sony Playstation 2's in all rooms, and the kids' beach playground, we have a lot of things to keep kids amused. Our beach is large and offers a lot. The top of our 400-foot-wide beach is all the sugar sand and the bottom portion is split into two sections: half is a natural area that guests can view birds, frogs, and grasses that are native to our region and the other half of the lower portion is hard-packed sand down to the water's edge. We have about 70-90 lounge chairs to enjoy as well as a beach fire pit! And your right - It is nice to have Walgreens across the street. Never know when there is something you may have forgotten that we don't carry in our Cherry Tree Sweet Shoppe.
I'm sorry you thought we were a bit far from the downtown area. Being 4.5 miles from downtown, our location does make it easier for guests to not be in the heavy traffic and it makes it easier to access the small towns around the area and the back roads to get around downtown traffic. The area is just so spread out in general because of all the fresh water access along the bays and the 15-20 inland lakes, so that's why all the hotels and restaurants are spread out along the area. Next time, you may want to bring your bicycles and take the TART trail, which you can access right across the street from our hotel, to downtown. It's a nice, paved trail that goes all the way to downtown and even up to Suttons Bay, although it becomes packed gravel west of downtown.
And thank you for telling us about the A/C vent blowing on your face. We'll look in to adjusting that, and I'm sure it would be simple to direct the air away from the head of the bed.
Thank you again for your review and your stay. I hope you have a nice spring. Happy Memorial Day!

Best,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We were very pleased with the quality and comfort of Cherry Tree Inn. we went there for a midweek getaway and it ended up being the most memorable trip of our lives yet. The service was absolutely outstanding. The hotel staff was probably the friendliest we have encountered to date. They even had dinner suggestions that turned out to be excellent. Looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Hello!

Thank you for the time you took to write a review of your stay. I'm pleased that the Cherry Tree Family provided such excellent service and hospitality. That's what we're supposed to do, right? I wish you a wonderful spring and summer. Happy Memorial Day!

Best,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

My wife and I went on our honeymoon May 16-19 in Traverse City and chose Cherry Tree because of the great rates and the photos. However, what we saw when we got there was so much better than the pictures or words described.

Granted, we stayed in the largest suite there, which came complete with a fireplace, kitchen, balcony, hot tub in the room, a lot of comfortable seating and space, a huge bathroom, and a very nice TV. The room was nicely laid out and it was kept clean during our stay.

The best part was the service, from the manager (Jonathan) to the front desk staff (Holly), who worked with us on prices and room service, but also recommended local restaurants, wineries and sights, seeming happy to do so. A room off the lobby offers local menus, a very nice and creative touch, as well as a computer and printer, and the continental breakfast each morning was tasty. We did not use the pool and hot tub, but they looked clean as well. The views of the East Arm of the bay are quite nice, as is the private beach with deck chairs, and the location is far enough away from Traverse (like, two miles) to avoid traffic but close to restaurants, a drugstore, the casino and a large department store.

I don't believe you can find anywhere better than Cherry Tree, and not only will we return next time, we will recommend it to anyone who travels there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a good, thorough review of your stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything and we were able to help you with special requests, making your honeymoon even better. I will be sure to post your review for the staff to see and keep motivated that they're doing a great job. I wish you a wonderful spring and a great year. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Best,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankenmuth, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

My stay at the Cherry Tree was very nice. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The grounds were immaculate. I would rate this hotel "outstanding".

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beyerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 23 May 2010
Hello! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review of your stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed everything and felt we had great service, clean, spacious rooms, and immaculate grounds. Wait until the end of this week! We have all our annual flowers being planted and 14 hanging baskets across the front! We'll have pictures posted on our social networking sites. Thank you again. Have a wonderful spring!

Best,

Jonathan P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed during the Winter Special in April, 2010. We paid $100 for the first night and $50 for the second for a corner, first floor walk-out with a pillow top bed and a jacuzzi. The view was amazing! The room had plenty of natural light and was recently remodeled in calming earth tones. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on and the jacuzzi was in the corner of the main room where you could leave the door open for a fresh breeze. This was an amazing value and I will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englandcrysta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpack, General Manager at Cherry Tree Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2010
Thank you for your kind review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you enjoyed the Lake Charlevoix Studio - a very nice choice for a couple's stay away. sometimes on slower days, we'll do great deals to entice our guests to stay with us longer, and I'm glad you took up the offer. Our pillow-top beds are very nice - we're planning to put those in all of our rooms. Right now, we have them in a select few. Thank you again for your review. We'll be happy to welcome you back. Have a great May.

Best,

Jonathan P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.0 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Tree Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Inn & Suites

Property: Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Address: 2345 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Tree Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a top Traverse City resort, the Cherry Tree Inn & Suites leads in service, cleanliness & comfort. With 400 feet of East Grand Traverse Bay waterfront, the Cherry Tree's smoke-free facilities provide the comfort you look for while our staff provides the service you need. Amenities include a complimentary hot breakfast with locally roasted and freshly ground coffee, complimentary wireless Internet access, indoor & outdoor pools and hot tubs, a sauna, and fitness and arcade rooms. All rooms feature pillow-top mattresses, high-definition TV's with high-definition channel programming, including a full HBO line-up, Sony Playstation 2's, iPad/iPhone/iPod docking stations, Starbucks coffees, Tazo teas, irons and ironing boards, safes, and kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators, and sinks. Reserve your stay at one of Traverse City's best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Cherry Tree Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Tree Hotel Traverse City
Cherry Tree Inn And Suites
Cherry Tree Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing