We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great service.”
Review of 9 Bean Rows - CLOSED

9 Bean Rows
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: 9 Bean Rows is a farmstead, cafe and bakery that focuses on fresh food from scratch. We also serve local Michigan wine, brew and cider as well as craft cocktails. Our cafe and bakery is located in the historic Suttons Bay Hose House.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great service.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Food was excellent and fresh. My husband and I split the mussels and caprese salad. We sat on the front patio. They also have seating inside and a back patio. Everything on the menu looked great. They have a nice selection of breads and baked goods. Defiantly will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breidend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gr
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

They are now in Suttons Bay, not Traverse City. Just happened to be walking by and stopped on a whim for lunch. Limited menu but given everything is fresh, not a problems. We had the pomme frites to start and they were great, but my wife says the aioli could have had more garlic. She had the vegetable sandwich and I had the lamb burger and both were excellent. The wine list was limited but a nice selection, including several Michigan choices. The desserts looked very good but we passed. The table behind us had the mussels and the chicken sandwich and seemed to be very happy with there choices. Would definitely go again, the diner menu looked even more interesting.The little courtyard in back was a nice, but if you sat way in back, you could smell the dumpster, the only negative we encountered

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napaskiak, Alaska, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A must grab”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Everything is to like about the 9 Bean Rows. I always stop and grab a seeded wheat, chocolate croissant, cream cheese croissant, and whatever else looks good every Wednesday and Friday at the farmer's market in TC. The breads are chewy when they are supposed to be and flaky at the right time to. They often have a line at the farmer's market but one bite of their buttery croissant is always worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hicok_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best croissants and coffee under one roof”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Jen bakes up the best croissants (and other amazing pastries, along with good bread) this side of the Atlantic. Seriously. And they brew a great cup of coffee (literally, pour-overs by the cup usually). They make breakfasts and sandwiches, with locally-sourced ingredients, that are to die for. I've NEVER been disappointed, and I have eaten here a lot! I think they are currently moving locations (to Suttons Bay maybe?)- hope they get settled and start serving food again soon. They even sell their croissants and bread at the downtown TC farmers' market, which makes the market all that much more fun. I can't imagine a Saturday farmers' market without one or more 9 Bean Rows croissant. :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great bakery, good breakfasts”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We first discovered 9 Bean Rows when they provided croissants and breads at the downtown TC Farmers Market. Now they have a location in the spot formerly occupied by The Cooks' House, a bit of a walk from all the shops and activities of downtown TC.

Their croissants--particularly the cheese one--are outstanding. Add to that a limited, but very tasty breakfast menu, and decent coffee, and you've got a wonderful place to start your morning. They also offer several different freshly baked breads for you to purchase and take home as well. Service is friendly and outgoing.

Seating is very limited, however...those of you who remember the old Cooks' House space will understand that. So, depending on when you visit, you may have grab your meal to go. There is some seating outside, which alleviates the crush.

Their menu also shows a Sunday brunch as well, which we've never tried.

One final comment: coffee is now limited to a straight-ahead cup of joe. Apparently, the barista who used to work there, and who made some of my wife's favorite cappucinos, must have split and taken his coffee-making toys with him.

Still, that's a quibble not a complaint. 9 Bean Rows is well worth a stop.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 9 Bean Rows also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing