We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Peninsula Cellars

Peninsula Cellars
Ranked #17 of 106 things to do in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Michigan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

At the cost of being redundant, this tasting room is a converted old school house. Very cool inside. The tasting room itself is a bit small but everyone seems to move through the process pretty quickly.

The wines, most of which are given a catchy, school house type of name, are generally very good. The Hot Rod Cherry, in an attractive bottle with flames along the sides, will serve as a talking-piece back home, and is very good, especially if you decide to warm it slightly. Another long time favorite of ours is the Homework. On a side note, we have found from several years coming here and piecing together information gathered, the Homework generally sells out pretty quickly in the year. So if you find you like it, and they still have bottles on the shelf, grab them. As of this writing, they are selling for $15.99 each. The Detention is also very good but we can sometimes find that at our local grocery store or liquor store. The Homework we found is only available at the winery.

We had no issues with our server, who actually disclosed that she had only been on the job for just a few days. She was either a slight wine connoisseur or she was trained pretty well before being sent out to the masses.

Overall, don't pass this place up. You will more than likely find something here you like.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilligaf462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    20
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOVE THE SCHOOLHOUSE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a great staff this place has. They have a wine for everybody to like and they make you feel that they appreciate you stopping in! Enjoy the new patio and the original schoolhouse on Old Mission. This is a must stop on the peninsula!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Don't drive by, its worth the stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

On are visit to Travers City we did wine tours on both the Old Mission and Leelanau Peninsula's. There are many fine wineries on each one, On the Old Mission side Peninsula Cellars was a standout because of their fine and unique wine's (Cabernet France - oak & pepper notes and Homework - Light and refreshing for summer) and our Hostess Alanna was the most personable, friendly and knowledgeable hostess of the places we visited.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry-Karen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Reasonable wine tasting fees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place had the most reasonable tasting fees on the Mission Peninsula. The location (a converted one-room country school house) is unique. The wines some of my favorites from Mission Peninsula. I've been here several times over the years. I'm rating it average, because my 07/2013 customer service experience was lacking. No input from the staff on wine suggestions or background info on the individual wines.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best White Wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Fabulous wines - particularly the Old Schoolhouse White. Friendly proprietors and staff. You are allotted 4 different wines to taste, and the whites were particularly good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peninsula Cellars also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Peninsula Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing