We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Jinetes - CLOSED

Jinetes
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Manchester, Michigan
1 review
“Yummy”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First when they bring you chips ask for the white cheese dip. The margaritas are amazing!! Try it you won't be sorry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“Muy Mal”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Yuck! Yuck! Yuck! Food was too salty and I couldn't tell the difference between my burrito, chimi changa and taco.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksch03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dissapointment”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The menu does have a lot of variety, which is nice to see, and it has a more traditional approach on Mexican cuisine versus the "Americanized" Mexican cuisine. We were here as a group for a business dinner, and were highly disappointed.

First, several of us, including myself received food that did not match the menu description. the wrong meats, added items, wrong food. While the server insisted we got what we ordered.

Secondly, the food that we ate was extremely salty. I could barely taste the food that i had ordered. To me, this is hiding lower quality ingredients, and poor cooks.

Another disappointment was the service. Our waiter was rarely seen, inattentive, and seemed to not care about or dining experience. It also seemed hard for him to speak or comprehend English, which is a must i beli

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JalenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Fantastic Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Been here a couple time (5 or so).

All I can say is that the food is fantastic & real Mexican. How many Mexican restaurants (in Northern Michigan) do 1/2 the wait staff don't speak English??? These guys are authentic! Absolutely great food & awesome service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“WOWZA....WONDERFUL MEXICAN FARE!”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This place will not disappoint. We just went there for lunch yesterday--great lunch specials, QUALITY Mexican food....not to even be compared to LaSenorita or Agave in Traverse City--it beats both of those Mexican restaurants HANDS DOWN~

I had the Quesadilla and my husband had one of the two lunch specials...the prices were very good. His lunch was only $4.75--you cannot eat at McDonalds for that. Every item we had and his lunch included a hard shell taco, rice and refried beans--ALL items were above average and made fresh. The chips and salsa brought to your table immediately upon being seated were great too--it is authentic salsa--not out of a jar and homemade tortilla chips--the flavors explode from the salsa. Not too hot either but just a good combination of flavors. This place is a great find and I highly recommend it. They also have terrific evening beer, margarita specials. Who doesn't love an ice cold Dos Equis? Don't miss this restaurant if you are hankering for GOOD Mexican food!

The wait staff is tastefully dressed as well--most in black shirts and dark purple ties--a classy act all the way!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondbabydoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jinetes also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing