We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too impressed!”

Sleder's Family Tavern
Ranked #37 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kaleva, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not too impressed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

It had been several years since we were last at Sledder's and decided to check it out. We remembered it to be a really cool spot, but were disappointed. Took forever to get waited on, then took forever to get the food. Not even very busy. The food was nothing to write home about. Will not be returning for several more years!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SE231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    106
    38
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped by furor lunch The perch was fine. A lot of fries. Only problem cold. Why can they not cook in advance. Burger at$10 again ok. For a $30 lunch(2 beers) just ok is not good enough

Helpful?
Thank Northernelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onekama, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kiss that Moose!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Visited recently with family from Sweden. We were later going to a cook out so went light on our "lunch." Smelt, chicken wings, jalapeno poppers, and good beer were our chosen course. Great stop on a rainy afternoon. Plus a great debate about the animal all gave a smooch. Our relatives in both Finland and Sweden call that animal an elk. They now know in America we call it a moose. Great visit, great service, good food and good beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMAK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant, Fabulous Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had lunch today with my husband. Service was fabulous. The Reuben and Clam Chowder were delicious. We were there in June of 2012 and it was great then. Nothing has changed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit, mi
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and kids loved it ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

So glad we came, the kids loved the noise level here so if you have little rowdy ones come here!! Be sure to have a selders cream ale, and to smooch the moose! Burgers were awesome and fries were perfect

Helpful?
Thank motorcitytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sleder's Family Tavern also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Sleder's Family Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing