We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a kind” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleder's Family Tavern

Sleder's Family Tavern
Ranked #34 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
309 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We always enjoy going here when in TC, which is not very often. We love the ambience, animal heads mounted, old bar, and cash register. There is just so much to look at. We loved the "Sleders Beer" (a bit pricey) and they have the best Reuben sandwhich. Their onion rings were really good too., We had the BEST and friendlies waitress that we have encountered recently, seemed like she likes what she does. We will return next time in TC.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    106
    38
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
TC
Level Contributor
220 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Another great local place gone missing with little attention by management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Not a bad local hang out. It has been in our community for a while. Over the last few years, however, it refuses to hire staff that are genuinely nice and caring, which is why I choose to live in TC with my family. Worth the try, but the service and speed of service is marginal, at best. Many other places to try in TC if you are ready to do so. If not, go to Sleders for some good ol' fashioned slow service and regular bar food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tcresidentTc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will definitely kiss the moose again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Whilst visiting Traverse city we stopped over for lunch at Sleder's Family Tavern. We were seated at the only available table since the restaurant was full. Whilst waiting for our food we enjoyed the chilled cream ale, drinks and admired the eye catching old cash register and mounted animal heads. Our served smelt, burgers, chicken wings, fries, onion rings and greens were tasty and delicious.

The meal was reasonably priced. On our way out we were encouraged to kiss Randolph the moose for 'luck'. It was slightly embarrassing standing on a step ladder and whilst with eyes closed kissing the moose hearing the loud bar bell toll wondering who is watching.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGM211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place to go for perch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Bar atmosphere, but perch and home cut fries are good. New waitress a little slow. But we loved the perch so it was worth it and we were on vacation so we had the time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Local neighborhood watering hole with tourist appeal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Sleder's. It is old (the oldest in town) it is loaded with heads of mounted game watching you eat, it is friendly, great food, and friendly staff that will take you back to the old neighborhood of the early 20th century. This place has been a local Slab Town watering hole for decades. The appeal is the originality. The food is good and the beer is cold. I always do the fish or the burgers but tonight tried the nachos.. Nice job. Large enough for the two of us and loaded with enough veggies to counteract the harmful effects of all the melted cheese. If you want a place with local flavor, a wide choice of beers and a good menu, this is a must stop when you hit Traverse City. Oh, and don't forget to kiss the moose. Ignore the fact that this is the most kissed moose in Northern Michigan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sleder's Family Tavern also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Sleder's Family Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing