We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sandwich Shop”
Review of Centre Street Cafe

Centre Street Cafe
Ranked #49 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Restaurant details
Traverse City MI
Level Contributor
207 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Sandwich Shop”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Sandwiches and salads for lunch are the best in TC. Seems they are only open for lunch and close at three so plan accordingly. Small restaurant with limited parking on site. But worth the trouble.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very small soup & sandwich place. Hard to find, but so worth the effort. Had an excellent lunch of soup and sandwiches. Salads looked good, too. They put their own twist on everything. Delicious! Lots of healthy and organic options. We will be going back to the Centre Street Cafe!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gayle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsley, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go Where the Locals Go for Lunch...Centre St.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great restaurant with great food. Not your ordinary menu. You won't find a grilled cheese or standard hamburger here. Everything is original and because of that expect to spend $8-$15 per person but well worth it. My favorites are the Wasabi Blues Turkey Sandwich and the Mediterranean Pasta. Pete, the owner, is always changing the specials and most are excellent. The "swamp soup" is a must if you like tomato soup. It can be very busy at lunch and sometimes a little slow but that's because they do a lot of catering here. I used to be a drug rep and Centre St was an extremely popular location with the doctors offices. My advice is to go before 12 or after 1 and the service will be much quicker and easier to find a place to sit as seating is limited.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRoberts20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Leelanau, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Place For Soup, Salads and Sandwiches”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As the title to this review says, this is a great little out of the way restaurant for lunch or if you are just in the mood for soup, salad or a sandwich. The space is utilitarian but made a bit more interesting by a large number of pictures on the wall for sale that are offerings of local artists.

I had the gumbo soup and a cherry chicken salad. The soup was especially good, with a flavorful broth and very tasty pieces of sausage. The salad was your standard Traverse City cherry/chicken salad, but it's as well done as I've had it. The price was reasonable, $10 total. I plan on going back and recommend it to you.

Please note that in giving the restaurant 4 stars I by no means mean to compare it to fine dining establishments, of which there are many in the Traverse City area. It's how I rate it when compared to other restaurants of its type. If you are from the East Coast you would say I'm comparing it to other diners.

One note of caution. The restaurant is small (fewer than 15 tables and a counter). I visited on a very cold day in January and there was a line out the door! I can't imagine what it must be like during the summer. So, give yourself some time when you go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City
Level Contributor
207 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Good sandwiches, slowww service”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here 5 times over the last dozen years. Each time, I've been super happy with the food, but less than satisfied with the service.
The lunch service is very slow, and the staff is rather aloof.
If you are meeting someone for lunch, you are much better off going downtown and getting better service at a place like North Peak.

Helpful?
Thank JohnnyHHHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centre Street Cafe also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Centre Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing