We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place on the water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boathouse Restaurant

Boathouse Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 295 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: French Fusion cuisine nesteled on beautiful Bowers Harbor, Deck Seating available in season, Romantic location for a proposal, also available for small/medium sized weddings, come to relax and enjoy the Taste of the Big City in Traverse City. Featuring Kobe Beef, English Dover Sole and the freshest most eclectic cuisine. Come as you are, upscale dining in a resort style casual atmosphere.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very nice setting next to a marina with a good view of the bay. We just had drinks and appetizers there. Everything was good. Kind of on the gourmet side. Pretty small portions but adequate. This would be a pricey place to have dinner but probably worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cuzuneed2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    134
    66
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook
Level Contributor
296 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Loved eating great food on the deck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I had just finished several hours wine tasting on the Mission Peninsula when we passed by this restaurant recommended by our B& B. We had a very delightful lunch overlooking the bay. Service was top notch as was the meal. We started with a craft beer and a great gin specialty drink. We shared appetizers of the whitefish pate and American cheese board. We then shared the infamous morel chanterelle bisque (so delicious and worth the calories) - the waiter was even kind enough to bring it in 2 bowls for us. We also shared the fish and chips - so fresh and crisp. As we were leaving I saw the chef in the bar area instructing his staff on what they were serving that night for dinner and how it was prepared. I was so impressed! We will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TERRI SCHWARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Food was local, fresh and creative. Servers were informed, helpful and on the money Bay view was a 10+

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paula q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice meal but average wine.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to go the Boathouse for our anniversary. Nice menu variety. The rack of lamb was very good and the scallops were good but not spectacular. Wait staff was on their game and the best part of the visit. We were a bit surprised that a restaurant in the middle of Northern Michigan wine country was serving very average Oregon house wines. The Pinot Noir was almost watery and lacked the body I would expect. The restaurant was noisy making it impossible to have conversation. Great service, above average food, poor wine selection and high prices. Not a place for a quiet dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mmmm Mmmm Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Been there twice now with my niece another real foodie like me. Great atmosphere with views of GT Bay. Excellent menu choices and appetizers. Wine selections are also great. It ain't cheap but well worth it. Wait staff is attentive and professional but not hovering or rushing...I think we were the last one's out. Definitely on the return-to list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boathouse Restaurant also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Boathouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing