We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duck and prime rib”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mode's Bum Steer

Mode's Bum Steer
Ranked #45 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Duck and prime rib”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

My husband has such a problem choosing duck or prime rib; it is his favorite place, therefore, was our place to anniversary dinners.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    56
    38
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebring Fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite of locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Open over 30 years in small downtown location.
Best prime rib in State.
Great steaks, ribs, etc.
Fast service by staff including food.
Wedge of lettuce with homemade blue cheese dressing is out of sight..
Giant shrimp cocktail.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeS237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Visited April 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

This restaurant definitely has an old school feel to it and it's what we liked the most plus the AMAZING steak!

It's a small place so go early if you can but you will not regret it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Old Time Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Yes, the décor is older – but once you get past that – you will be pleasantly surprised. We visited on a Saturday afternoon – very casual, felt like a hometown bar. We had the coney bar and the best crispy French fries! Great prices – Service was excellent! Saw the other reviews on Trip Advisor so gave it a try – so glad we did.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

My husband and I were expecting a burger joint-steakhouse, however, upon entering for a late night dinner we found the atmosphere a little bit swankier than we expected (we were the only guests in jeans). The service wasn't great, we waited a while for our initial greet and drinks. The food was great, excellent, juicy burgers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MemberP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mode's Bum Steer also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Mode's Bum Steer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing