We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, better view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apache Trout Grill

Apache Trout Grill
Ranked #10 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$33
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Apache Trout Grill has a casual lodge theme to the dining room. Over looking Grand Traverse Bay is the perfect setting for any occasion.The Apache serves good food right.
Bella Vista, AR
Level Contributor
183 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food, better view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

They don't accept reservations so we were prepared to be told there was an hour wait for a window table (on a Tuesday night, not yet high season). We grabbed a table in the bar and ordered drinks and appetizers, but then waited a very a long time. I'm not faulting the server (but the bartender was much too slow with beer and wine), but the kitchen must be understaffed for the crowds. Appetizers took so long our table was ready by then; made for a disjointed dinner service. View of the bay is gorgeous and the weather was perfect.. My whitefish was excellent, the walleye ordered by two companions just okay, great mac and cheese. Food was good but not sure I'd wait that long again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soxgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    313
    121
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
171 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Been many times in previous years. Disappointing this time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This place is popular and wait time is usually over an hour. Warm potato salad was great as usual, Mac and cheese was poor, Cole slaw bland, lobster bisque was very good but padded with too much potato and not enough lobster, and the whitefish was humongous. I didn't need that much. I've had whitefish here before and was never so bland. Overall, still very good, but not too usual standards. None of the people I was with had been before. All thought the food was quite good, but not worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 69-Mach1-lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hook, Line and Sinker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Apache Trout Grill is a contemporary restaurant cleverly decorated like a fishing lodge and specializing in fine seafood. It’s conveniently located on the west arm of Grand Traverse Bay and provides gorgeous views of the sailboats moored just off shore. Be sure to arrive early for lunch to get one of the tables that directly overlook the water. Jazmine, our waitress, was very friendly and took great care of us. We started with some local craft beer and wine from Boathouse Vineyards. The blackened tilapia and whitefish selections were both fantastic. I also recommend the shrimp and lobster bisque and the horseradish mashed potatoes. We will definitely go back next time for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, less than appealing preparations, Ceasar salad was bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We went to their Sunday Brunch and found that almost all the food was not prepared or seasoned properly. Ceasar salad was awful. Their crepes were too sugary and the seafood ruined by a heavy sauce! The only decent thing on the menu was their sweet potato bread pudding with the walnut maple syrup. Omelette was prepared well and the ingredients were fresh. However, the cons outweighed the pros and we will not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romantictourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We we're up on the 4th of July week and just stopped by this restaurant because we were hungry and it was close. It was a great choice - I had the Walleye which was marvelous and my father in law had Salmon - also nice (unfortunately the Scallops hubby had were smothered in chili sauce - what a waste). We sat in a booth in the bar because it was so busy, but our server was fantastic, the atmosphere was great. We would go again - it's a very nice setting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boswella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apache Trout Grill also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Apache Trout Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing