We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ridiculous wait - lost a longtime customer for dinners”
Review of Apache Trout Grill

Apache Trout Grill
Ranked #10 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$33
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Apache Trout Grill has a casual lodge theme to the dining room. Over looking Grand Traverse Bay is the perfect setting for any occasion.The Apache serves good food right.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ridiculous wait - lost a longtime customer for dinners”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Been going to the Apache since it opened. Usually there is a wait for a table, but now they told us there is a mandatory 1.5 hour wait. My suggestion, put your name in the leave for a hour....Why the restraurant owner's don't expand is beyond me. Better yet, just go there for drinks, skip dinner.

Helpful?
3 Thank harley1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    319
    122
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Two nights in a row I was very pleased with my dinner I ate early with the old folks about 5 and the place is getting packed if not already packed, make reservations. The only thing I hated was that I could eat dinner on their beautiful patio! Only drinks service on the patio. I recommend if you have to wait have drinks on the patio, or if you get right in, eat first then enjoy a drink on the patio

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 584AndreaG584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A gentleman at Woodland Creek highly recommended this place for a great meal, yet casual dining. When we arrived there was over an hour wait, but we are so glad that we decided to wait. We waited outside, OUTSTANDING VIEW OF GRAND TRAVERSE BAY, listened to the music, had a few drinks and chilled out. Once we got inside the view was still amazing. They had the large doors to the outside opened and you had a nice breeze and just amazing view. The food was one of the best meals we have ever had. We had the trout and it was to die for!! Then we topped it off with the peanut butter mouse for desert. MMMMMMM
The only negative comment would be the drinks are very pricey. My husband had a Long Island Iced Tea and it was $15, a Tom Collins was $12 and the Leelenau Lemonades were $10 each. They didn't skip on the alcohol though.
We would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“1/2 price bottles of wine”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Attentive, friendly waitress; nice view; great meal. A little loud because a large group was seated right next to us. Whitefish is yummy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank okiehokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Even if there is a wait. Get a drink and sit outside adn enjoy the water. We always get the white fish, 2 types of breading. The one with pecans "I believe" is a little too heavy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apache Trout Grill also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Apache Trout Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing