We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pasties”

Cousin Jenny's Cornish Pasties
Ranked #31 of 299 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: Cousin Jenny's offers delicious comfort food for all tastes, including authentic Cornish Pasties, Breakfast Bobbies, soups, salads and sandwiches. Stop in for breakfast or lunch and enjoy old-fashioned personal service in a comfortable atmosphere.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent pasties”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

These are pasties as they are meant to be. Delicious pastry, and the meat and vegetables (mainly potato and rutabaga (swede) diced small. There's another pasty store in town that must put all the ingredients into a hopper and grind them into a paste to make the filling. Not Cousin Jenny's - these are done just right.

You can get other things beside the pasties, but, hey, why would you want to? These are the real thing.

The ambience is a bit too full of tacky English souvenirs for my taste, but if that's what people like, and it sells pasties, I'm not going to complain.

You can also buy them to take out. If you are buying in bulk, for an event, they will lend you a portable, but heavy, heated container on wheels to keep them in till you are ready to serve them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    34
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
1 review
“Never open”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Every holiday, every time we have tried to eat at this place they have been closed. If you run a restaurant in a tourist destination, you should at least have somebody that can manage if you are too busy to run it properly. We go to Traverse City every year and have never found this place open.

Helpful?
Thank Mooseman1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thumbs-up from a Yooper wanna-be”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband - a Michigan Tech (Uppper Peninsula) grad and lover of all things U.P., young son, and I spotted the Cousin Jenny's sign and the word pasties, and just had to stop-in as it's not often that you can find pasties (unfrozen, that is) outside the U.P. The kiddo didn't want one, and instead ordered a lovely Italian sandwich and bowl of soup loaded with noodles and beef. I tasted his soup, and mine - a stuffed green pepper, and was bowled over; neither was from a can, and Gordon Food Service didn't make it...the owner or other employee did. The flavor tells you. Anyone who actually cooks their own food, and is familiar with what freshly-made food looks and tastes like, can recognize handmade food. This is it. Oh, I was told by an employee that the owner is there at 3 a.m. daily preparing the pasties, etc., daily. Now, back to the pasty-talk. My husband knows pasties. We vacation yearly in the U.P., and always sample the pasties, in whatever town we happen to be for lunch...well, honestly, we've eaten them at breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We liked how the top crust on the pasty was thin - not thick like the crimped edge of a pie crust. The filling was generous, there was none of that odd "meat" product that one often finds in their pasty, and the gravy was self-serve - in a squeeze bottle. We loved this; it was nice and warm - the gravy, that is. We found-out that the owner has been in business there for over 30 years. The food, lovely decor (couldn't get enough of the pretty tartan cloths under glass at each table!), bright sunshine streaming through the large front windows, and friendly service makes this place a winner. Obviously, others thought so, too, as we watched at least 7 pasties be purchased for take-out during our meal. We went-in shortly before closing, around 5:30, and there was plenty of room, but still lots of pasty choices. Can't imagine how busy it is at lunch, but we just happened to hit it right. Hope you do, too! Oh, and order a pot of tea, for goodness sake...pretend to be British for just a moment as you take in the charms of the clean restaurant and the quaint city outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very friendly and welcoming...Great food and nice services,
Good quality food and quiet nice place.
Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great take on a British classic!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Growing up in the UK I'm always interested in trying out American versions of British classics and Cousin Jenny's hits the nail on the head when it comes to the Cornish Pastie! The crust is lovely, the portion size is big and the filling and sauces are both delicious. It appears classic pastie favours are available daily (your beef, chicken etc) with other flavours available depending upon the day of the week. While we both had pasties, there are salads and wraps also available. Everyone was lovely and friendly and your food was brought out really quickly.

Really nice British themed place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jray2436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cousin Jenny's Cornish Pasties also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Cousin Jenny's Cornish Pasties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing