We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sushi in TC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Panda North

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Panda North
Ranked #227 of 298 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Chinese, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Best sushi in TC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Consistent, fresh, fast and satisfying.
They do a great job!!!
Dinning room a TAD dated.
Spicy Tuna Roll, Eel Roll and Traverse City roll are all winners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    2
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“rice buffet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I called about the prices for the sushi lunch buffet. They said 16.95 for adults and my kids (ages 7 and 9) would be the price of their age. 1) They load the rolls and sushi with rice. I mean loaded with rice. 2) When I asked the chef to use a little less rice he went nuts and basically said, when "you order buffet I put the amount of rice I want." 3) They charged my oldest daughter for the price of an adult - really? I had to tell the cashier that I was told the prices over the phone and she asked me if the voice was a male or female.... This place is run by greedy incompetent rice pushers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hehk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Cramped seating. Poor food quality. Smells bad.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The title pretty much states my opinion. Came here for a good Chinese dinner and was very disappointed. The place smells bad when you walk in. The tables are too crammed in. The service was pretty bad. Worst of all, the food was gross. Tried to keep an open mind and make the best of it, but there wasn't anything good I could find about this place. Will not go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridjetT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
142 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Decent Sushi -- for Northern Michigan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Traverse City has a plethora of great restaurants, but is lacking in good ethnic places. For example, there is no really good Japanese restaurant. If you want sushi, Panda North is the best of the available choices and is reasonably priced.

They feature both a lunch and dinner sushi buffet, where you can order whatever you want for one set price. It isn't great sushi, but it decent. Other items are also available (Gyoza, tempura. etc.) but don't expect top quality -- this is Northern Michigan!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Came here a few times, the first couple times they had fresh sushi and good food. Then the quality keeps going downhill, the last time we went there, the quality was so poor we decided not to go there anymore.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panda North also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Panda North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing