We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just stayed for 3 nights. Helpful staff, gave ideas for meals and useful large map of the area. Large room, comfortable beds, jacuzzi, balcony overlooking water and nice beach area. Great place near traverse with great views of the bay and sunsets

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdavis96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    111
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
52
185
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend our anniversary on the beach and Pointes North was perfect. Great sunsets, pool and beach. Close to restaurants and shops. Would definately stay here again! The only thing lacking was an on site restaurant , though they did offer coffee and donuts in the morning. We just prefer a full menu with on site dining.

Room Tip: We read the reviews before we booked and asked for a room on the upper level, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel looks old from the outside, and maybe it is, however it was perfect for us. We were on the 3rd floor away from the pool with an awesome view of the lake. The water was crystal clear and the swimming pool was very clean! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pugluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I just booked another stay at Pointes North Beachfront Resort for this September as we had a great time on our last visit! We asked to see the room first and the front desk was most accomodating giving us the keys to see a few differrent rooms. We decided on the top floor and stayed in a King Suite. There is a elevator and this is most important to me so maybe you too. They have a great mid-week price and AAA makes it a great value. If you're a Facebook Friend you might also be able to get in on some of their "Specials" too as I did this as well.

When we walked into the room it was very inviting. The first thing you really notice is that there are sliding glass doors viewing the Beautiful Bay and a Patio to go outside and enjoy it. Out on the patio you feel privacy the way they are built... no one can see into my room and I can't see into theirs. I appreciate that concept.

The room was light, bright and well kept. Beautiful King Bed, Sofa which I think might be a sleeper, a coffee table, desk, flat screen TV and a Beautiful Whirlpool Tub..... There is also a Fridge and Microwave in the unit as well. There is a free standing shower if you prefer. Wi-Fi worked well.

Sunning on the beach or walking in the shallow water near the shore was very nice.

We enjoyed our time driving and there is lots to see from Orchards, Wineries and Private Apple Markets on the side of the roads to a Casino or two. Very quaint and cozy. We prefer our time on the backroads exploring but there are plenty of shops and restaurants in Traverse City itself.

We are so pleased that we are returning for another visit to the area.

Room Tip: I love being on the higher floors... Privacy and Views are Wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Skyeblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I pretty much agree with the previous review about the hotel being average especially for the price.. We found it a bit short on amenities. There were very basic toiletries ie. tiny soaps. The shower stall is a small fiberglass unit, the exhaust fan incredibly loud. The bed pillows were very hard- a solid lump of foam but we asked for something softer and were given some pillows that were chunks of foam. Somewhat better. The air conditioner is a wall unit that is fairly loud but it didn't seem to be a problem, it cooled the room nicely though when the compressor cycled on it was noticable. We were in the building with the elevator which was a plus. On the 3d floor the view of the bay and sunset is outstanding. Though there were restaurants close by and things to do, we would probably chose a hotel on the other bay closer to town if we visit again. The downtown Traverse City area is very nice.

Room Tip: The west building has an elevator. 3d floor has nice high ceilings, good view and no one above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wj60304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I give this hotel an average, although after first leaving I would have probably given it a poor if I hadn't sat & thought about it. First the pros: the beachfront, though small, is very nice and well maintained and the views front the balconies are quite beautiful at sunset. The pool is very nice and a decent size for the hotel. The staff were mostly friendly and accomodating and the room was nice and included a fridge, coffee maker and microwave which came in handy. The cons: this is an older hotel and the building we stayed in had no elevator at all. Not usually an issue, however, if you have been to wineries and purchased any quantity of wine it requires several trips up and down to unload your car. Second, we were on the second floor and listened all night to the creaking of the room above us. Every time they crossed the floor it was a huge creaking sound that woke both of us (not light sleepers). It was awful and we honesly had the worst night sleep as they were up until midnight and decided to get an early start at 4:30am. Lastly the "continental breakfast" while it does meet the exact definition, is more of a snack than a meal (hence thank goodness for the microwave and fridge in the room). I wouldn't say this room was a good value, we've stayed at other resorts in the area for the same price with better results, however it was clean, maintained and well-staffed.

Room Tip: We were told by staff to pick the third floor if we didn't want to be kept up by creaking, balan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandipandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding week & loved it! My wedding guests did too! Very nice rooms with a jacuzzi tub, kitchen area, very calming decor, super comfortable bed, gorgeous water view, balcony, etc.! We had the best wedding week and will be back! :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMS0679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
4.0 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Property: Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing