We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to say year round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to say year round”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was my first time in a while being in Traverse City, and we got recommendations for Pointes North from a friend. We went up in the winter which was very low key, and the hotel was not very busy. There are Jacuzzi in every room which is very nice in the winter. The staff was very nice, and gave us lots of ideas on what to do. Nice distance away from down town, but still has a lot to offer. We went up for the breweries and found that the location was perfect because there is one in Acme just past the hotel to the east. Great place with great staff, and very decent rates in the winter.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not on the first floor so you get a better view of the bay. Ask to stay on the west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coveyou, Manager at Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We appreciate your review and are so happy you had a great experience. Traverse City has so much to offer through all of the seasons. Have you ever been here in the fall?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    112
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
53
187
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holton, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I almost hate to give this review...as I want to keep it a secret for myself...but it definitely deserves a good review. The rooms are clean and Beautiful and spacious! The private balconies have a beautiful peaceful view of the Bay. Yes, it is an older Place but it is very well kept. The front desk workers are always very nice and helpful with directions and suggestions. This is my favorite place to stay in Traverse!!

Room Tip: I have only stayed on the top floor. Beautiful view of the bay from the top floor ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lynn57mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy L, Manager at Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We hope you chose to stay with us again! If you haven't already, sign up to receive our newsletter on the home page of our website, so you'll be informed on upcoming specials, events and local festivals!

Stay Warm,

The Points North Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
254 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Let me start with the negatives first, then we'll discuss all the positives about this place.

Although there weren't many things I could pick on, there were just a couple things this place lacked compared to the surrounding resorts. There's no indoor pool, or gym, or arcade or any of the usual "indoor comodities" most places around here offer, and there isn't someone at the front dest 24 hours a day, they leave at 9pm... but other than that there's really nothing to complain about.

Now for the positives, it's in a great location. Right on the Bay and about 5 minutes from downtown Traverse City. My husband and I came during the off season and paid $89 / night for a huge room with a Jucuzzi inside, and nearly all of the rooms have private balconies, which is great. The staff is very friendly, and the room was very clean. The hotel itself is a little outdated, they still have actual room keys opposed to key cards, but nothing to complain about. All in all it was a good stay for a good price, I would recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy L, Manager at Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Pointes North.
We hope to see you at the property again!

There are many upcoming events in the area. To keep up to date on them visit our website and sign up for our newsletter!

Stay Warm!

The Pointes North Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We are in Traverse City often, but this was our first stay at Pointes North. Loved it! Room was spacious and clean. Very comfortable on a cold winter's weekend! The view can't be beat, and the balconies are private. The TART trail is literally across the street, so zipped over for an early morning run. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MalandLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was my first visit to Traverse City. My wife and I were thrilled with the accommodations and service. Linda who worked in the lobby was an excellent tour guide for the three day's we visited. Linda also gave great advise as to where we should eat each night. We will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Overall Pointes North was very enjoyable. The room was clean and spacious and there weren't any problems other than a lack of hot water in the evening when we wanted to take a soak in the jacuzzi tub. At check out the lady at the front desk said they were having some boiler problems, apologized and reduced our daily rate by $5. The view over the bay from our room was great and we would likely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul_Guertin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was our first trip to Traverse City and chose the Pointes North by recommendation. I checked the website and was sooo impressed. The weather was pretty rainy and gloomy all weekend but that did not matter. We absolutely loved everything about it. The view from our balcony. The jacuzzi, the staff and great. We will be definitely planning another vacation to Traverse City and Pointes North

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BobandTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,064 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.0 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
280 reviews
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Property: Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing