We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor service!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, MI
1 review
“Very poor service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

We booked a room at Pointes North as part of our 20th wedding anniversary. We loved the location and a room with a Jacuzzi sounded extra special. Unfortunately, when we returned to the room after dinner to relax, we couldn't get the Jacuzzi to work. We got no answer from the front desk, so my husband walked up there only to find no one there. We continued to try to raise them by phone until midnight. No luck. When my husband complained the next morning, the desk clerk asked if we had tried the breaker.(??!!??) Then she asked why we didn't call the desk. We explained that we had repeatedly called. She knocked off $10 from our bill of $166. Believe me, without the Jacuzzi this room was not worth $156. We will not be back. What if we had a bigger plumbing problem? Or had locked ourselves out? We would have been sleeping in our car!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCrabbyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    109
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
52
181
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

I have been staying at this place when ever I'm in town for over twenty years. Recently we stayed the night - no problems. Then a few weeks later we decided to stay the night again at 10:30 pm we get a call saying we stole a blanket from the time before. when we talked to the manager about this she said that is what the housekeeping said but yet we were not aloud to speek with this housekeeper. we should have been informed right away. they have our phone number. we were also not informed at check-in. and after calling and getting me upset they closed the office.
futher more I've never stolen anything in my life.
this really hurts and will bother me for a long time.
watch housekeeping and make sure you account for everything when you leave.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upsettraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We happened upon this hotel while we were looking for somewhere to stay for the night and turned in because of the sign that said "walk in specials". It was clean, very inviting and right on the bay. The rate was reasonable for a week night, especially in July, just 169.00 per night. I hadn't planned on spending that much but when we saw the room and location we were thrilled.
Everything was clean and we were right at the edge of the pool
which was awesome for my teenage son. We watched an incredible sunset while he was in the 85 degree pool. It was beautiful sitting around a pool enjoying the view of the bay! The jacuzzi was a great bonus and so relaxing. We slept wonderfully that night and it was quiet unlike staying at the cheaper family type motels where people run the hallways all night. I had planned on staying 1 more night but was called back for business the following morning. We will go back when I get a chance. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the next morning was so awesome to wake up with the view. Although it was a very short stay, it was so awesome and comfortable I can't wait to go back. There was just a continental breakfast but we are not morning eaters and the donuts and bagels and juice were just fine for us. I would recommend this hotel, especially with a room at pool level. It was great!

  • Liked — It felt so safe an luxurious with a family atmosphere but with privacy.
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1fasthemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2007

We spent 3 nights at Pointes North. I debated between this place and Sugar or Grand Beach Resorts, but went with this one because the price and the rooms looked so nice online.

We ended up with one of the rooms that was only partially renovated(still have 1980s style furniture) and the most uncomfortable bed. They let us change rooms(staff was always very nice) and the king rooms were much nicer and much more comfortable bed. The decor was nice and the balcony and beach views were nice, but the beach was kinda swampy in most of the area. Our room was clean, so no complaints there. The continental breakfast was not much to speak of though, some donuts and bread with canned orange juice. We had to spend extra money to go out to breakfast because the breakfast was so bad. When we were ready to check out at the end of our stay, we had to wait until 8 or 9 for the office to even open even though we wanted to be on the road around 7.

Overall, the place wasn't terrible and the staff was always very nice and accomadating, but I was disappointed in our stay since it was our anniversary vacation.

  • Liked — rooms with updated decor were nice, view was nice
  • Disliked — breakfast, uncomfortable beds in queen rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Want2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2007

My husband and I went to this Inn after viewing it on-line. Over the internet it appeared to be clean, relaxing (with a spa tub), and just the get-away needed before the school-year began. What we experienced was a room infested with small flies. There were at least 500 or so of the bothersome insects flying-about the bathroom/toilet area that smelled strongly of urine. Flies were everywhere! Flies especially seemed to like resting on the "clean" towels that were stored folded on a shelf in the small toilet room. These flies died after hitting the vanity's light and then fell dead into onto the small sink area. The bathroom sink's plastic handle was encrusted with dried soapy dirt from prior residents. Seeing this standard of "clean", I was unwilling to attempt a relaxing bath in the in-room spa tub. Upon returning to our room the second day, we found this Inn's standard of "clean" was upheld because our trash was not removed from the room. Our trash from the previous day was piled high on a coffee table. Additionally, our sheets were not changed as had been expected at an Inn charging as much as we had paid. We could not speak with staff at the Inn until the final morning of our stay because they leave and turn-on the "No vacancy" light before we could return from enjoying our outings in the Traverse City area. We were told by office staff that the flies are due to this Inn being located in a wetland and they can't spray. We were told by staff that they were sorry about the trash, dirt, dirty sheets, and urine smell. We were only offered $20 off our next stay at this Inn as consolation for our troubles. I told them I would never want to come there again and that I would be writing this review to warn others about the Pointes North Inn. So unless you like getting really close to nature (insects) and dirty grime, avoid this Inn at Traverse Bay.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestLuvtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
204 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2006

We picked this place from a guidebook for last-minute reservations, and on balance, it was a positive experience. The comfortable rooms all have a great view of the bay, nice small balconies, comfortable bed. Each room has a jacuzzi, which was great after a day of hiking at nearby Sleeping Bear Dunes national lakshore. However, the "kitchen" advertised was actually just a small dorm-size refrigerator and tiny microwave, and there were no dishes or utensils. The "free breakfast" was the worst we have encountered - lousy coffee (no tea or hot water), a few very tired looking pastries and Wonder-bread style bagels, and small cans of orange or apple juice. There are no laundry facilities on-premise. Overall, not a bad place, but for the price next time we'd shop around a bit.

Helpful?
5 Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2005

Our stay at Pointes North Inn, while priced well for a bay view hotel with jacuzzi tub. At the time of our stay, 10/04, we found the rooms nice size well laid out, nicely appointed and decorated. However, the room was noisey, due to open corridor to exterior, with poor weatherstripping on door.
This was our 2nd stay. On our first stay we had to move from one room to another, because the pipes for heat where so noisey. The staff where Very nice and understanding. The new room was fine. I believe this Hotel could be among best on the bay, with just a few improvement's. Like adding: new mattresses, enclosing corridor, some interior updates. All in all our stay was nice.

Helpful?
10 Thank jdsmaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.1 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
4.0 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Property: Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing