We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not Great”

Moomers Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 12 Dessert in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, not Great”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stopped in on a rainy day during our vacation. The line was out the door. Despite a good number of workers behind the counter, service was pretty slow (likely due to so many people ordering shakes and sundaes). Staff was friendly and helpful, and tracked down a flavor that was listed on their website, but not on the front board.

I was excited for the lactose free options. It was good, but a little icy and gritty. According to other family members, the "regular" ice cream was good.

Overall, a good stop for a rainy day when we couldn't take advantage of other options, but otherwise, probably not worth the drive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 30Cros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    107
    36
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Icecream, but expensive”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The ice cream was super yummy, especially liked the salted carmel chocolate, but it was expensive. Kids loved it and nice view to sit outside and enjoy, will have to try the pizza sometime.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlovessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't be intimidated by the line. It's worth it!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The line moves fast and people are friendly. The kids can kill time watching the cows in the field. I have been here several times on visits to the area. This year I had the delightful experience of going on my 69th birthday so my purchase was 69% off! What a treat. Not only was the ice cream the BEST, my banana split was deeply discounted, which probably made it
all the more memorable. They really have great ice cream here, made with cream from the nearby cows I assume. Lots of interesting flavors. I also purchased an ice cream cake. I didn't realize that if you called ahead you could have any flavor combination you desired but I was
happy to settle for Oreo ice cream cake. They also keep Peanut Butter Cup ice cream cakes on hand without special ordering. The have very reasonable prices for the quality you receive.
Also nice size and wll priced kids cones. Will always go back to Moomers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra29492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“No doubt it's good,but best in America?”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

They have a ton a different choices and varieties you never heard of. The one and a half scoop in a waffle cone is huge. That being said it melts pretty quick, so keep that in mind.
The location right on the water is great with tables outside to sit and relax. When in the area I will definetly good back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great ice cream; cool venue; next to beach”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

What more is there to say? A bit away from downtown so there is store-front free parking. Reminded me of the restaurants right off A1A in Ft. Lauderdale. Cherry Moobilee was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Nadeem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moomers Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Moomers Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing