We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family/Friend Gathering Spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Inn on the Bay
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Pinckney, Michigan
1 review
“Great Family/Friend Gathering Spot”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just spent a comfortable & enjoyable 5 days here. We hosted a rehearsal dinner in their spacious lawn...playground, horseshoes, hammock, volleyball net, firepit, lakeside beach and lots of parking made it a big success! The host are very accommodating and willing to help in anyway. Rooms may be a bit dated but the quaintness beats the "hotel room" look and feel. Close to town but not in the middle of it was another bonus. Totally recommend this priced right inn!
Boyces'
Pinckney, Mi

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 928Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    18
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

One of the best prices in the area. The owners are friendly hard working folks. The rooms are small and older but clean. There is play space for kids. The beach is OK, you will need to walk across the M-22. Its Not luxury, but I would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank titaniumtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

When I travel I want clean, safe and cheap. Will pay more to ensure the first two. Yes it does seem to be a little dated and our room was small. I was in the bathroom changing clothes and cracked my elbow on the knob to the shower. But our room was very clean and it did look like they had added laminate flooring. The outside is adorable. We went to the beach which felt a lot like the human version of frogger. over all we had a very comfortable stay. If your looking for a 4-5 star resort this isn't for you but if you are looking for a cute, clean safe place to say with some old school charm. I would stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank 642SaraD642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I always like to rate our travel experiences honestly and fairly. I was rather disappointed when we opened the door to our "cottage" none of the furniture matched, green sofa, mauve chair, old stained carpet, bedding straight out of Salvation Army ( none of the sheets, pillow cases matched) the bathroom was so tiny you could not sit on the potty normally, shower was small, faucet sprayed every which way , cobwebs all over and we had ants in our bed! The other guest seemed nice and it was quiet. We had empty bottles outside our door upon arrival and they were still there 3 days later. Also no plugs in the sitting area or bedroom or a clock. There were a lot of empty bottles people left behind at the beach area. If your looking for a very cheap place to stay with running water and don't expect much, this is a place you would enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFFORD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for a week. If you are looking for a nice adorable, quiet place close to TC and not expensive like the other hotels in the area than this is the hotel for you, but if you are expecting it to be like the newer motels please don't stay here, they don't need the negative feedback. The hotel had all the amenities that we needed for our stay. It is quaint and very peaceful, unless you get a neighbor that's noisy, even still we really enjoyed our stay and in the evening if it's too chilly they will ask if you want your gas fireplace on (it's an older model). The owners are very friendly and always available, in the morning they come by to check if you need anything, towels, etc. We stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage rental that provided a full stove and fridge, the kitchen is small but has all that you need. The air conditioner is quiet and works great when needed and each rental has a sitting area right out front of the room and a charcoal grill. Like I said, very quaint older hotel but peaceful and perfect for us. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZSTAFFORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here in the fall of 2012 when we traveled to Traverse City for our anniversary. It was the most affordable place we could find without staying outside of town. It is not by any means a fancy place, but for the price it was great. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, it was quiet. That's all I really care about in a hotel. I've stayed in much fancier and expensive hotels that can't seem to hit those marks, but Anchor Inn delivered. It reminds me of an old roadside motor lodge. The setting is nice and wooded. There are grills right outside the rooms with lawn furniture. it would be a nice place to stay in the summer. The beach is across the road. We were there at the end of September, and our room had a fire place which was nice and cozy. I will say that our room was tiny. The furniture in it pretty much filled the space. The bathroom had barely enough room to turn around in. My husband and I did not care about this, but others might. We stayed for 4 nights and barely spent any time in our room. It was our first trip to TC and we had a list of places we wanted to hit, so we really just wanted a place to crash at the end of the day. The one complaint we had was that their wifi was pretty bad. We were halfway down from the office and could not get a signal. It was only a minor inconvenience, but we run into this a lot when traveling. If a hotel is going to advertise having wifi it should be a guarantee that all rooms actually have it, and not only the handful of rooms closest to the router. This is not exclusive to Anchor Inn though, and as I said was only a minor inconvenience, I just think it is worth noting for anyone else that would be a bigger issue for. For our purposes the Anchor Inn was a great find and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upnorth Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Found this gem while searching for a hotel room, and it was just what we wanted! Located just a few miles north of downtown Traverse City, the Anchor Inn offered a nice, cozy, and clean room. The pine beds were SO comfortable and the corner gas fireplace was perfect for taking off the chill in the room after a raining day. It was so obvious that owners have taken great care to update and maintain a lovely and charming establishment! I would love to go back there for a longer time and take the family. You can't beat the location!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
202 reviews
6.7 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,064 reviews
6.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn on the Bay

Property: Anchor Inn on the Bay
Address: 12068 S West Bay Shore Dr, Traverse City, MI 49684-5260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn on the Bay is a quaint family style resort on the West Grand Traverse Bay - situated in a beautiful park like setting. You may choose from 1, 2 or bedroom cottages with full kitchens - or a unique motel room. All rooms are air conditioned. We are on M-22 just 2 miles north of Traverse City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing