We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarack Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamarack Lodge
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“wonderful property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I stayed 5 fantastic nights in June at Tamarack Lodge. I was travelling solo, so only required a 1 bedroom apartment, the Acorn type, and was very thankful I had a higher floor as the views from the kitchen and lounge / balcony were fantastic.
It was a very quiet apartment, well outfitted and modern but cozy. Great kitchen and the bed was extremely comfortable. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Morning coffee in the lobby each day was much appreciated. I really loved Traverse City and hope to return one day with the rest of my family - we would definitely stay here again next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa31jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh T, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello lisa31jane! Thank you very much for your kind words. It is always nice to hear from our guests about their stays with us. I hope you do have the opportunity to come back with your family sometime in the future. We have bigger two and three bedroom units to accommodate almost any size family. We would love to see you again. I'm glad that you pointed out our coffee which is actually available 24 hours a day in the lobby. We also brew Higher Grounds coffee which is roasted right here in Traverse City. I hope that you also had a chance to take advantage of some of the other great things we offer here during your 5 night stay. Once again, thank you and I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    22
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
75
89
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights last month and really enjoyed the location by the lake, the beautiful architecture of the building and rooms. The only downsides that we discovered was the very tiny closet space in our room and barely enough walking space around the queen sized bed in the single bedroom. Room was very quiet though, which was nice.
Lastly, the road noise was distracting when we sat outside by the beach.
The staff here were polite and professional. Enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fahren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We only got to stay one night. We had a penthouse Queen suite w/ lock off. 5th floor view of the bay. Private Jacuzzi in Suite bedroom. Full kitchen. Fireplace. Large balcony. Private beach. What more can I say? Truly one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in. If I return to Traverse City at any time of year, I would not want to stay anywhere else. Located on the East bay, but only a 10 min drive to downtown shopping and restaurants. If you want to splurge on a romantic getaway, look no further!!

Room Tip: 90% of rooms are Bay view. Only the lock offs have limited views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fireman9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in 5th floor junior penthouse for five nights. Second stay in past year. All of the staff are friendly, helpful. Views are spectacular. Rooms are very comfortable and clean.

Wish the campfires with so mores were located differently as the smoke makes it impossible to sit on balconies and enjoy sunsets and the rooms fill with smoke. It is a popular feature with families and I understand the balancing of guests wishes. Maybe fewer nights?

Overall stay exceeded expectations. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PristineWilderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I came across Tamarack Lodge whilst traveling across the USA and it is the best accommodation I have stayed in by far! The staff are so friendly and welcoming, the accommodation is Exquisite and so clean. I think I have found my new home away from home and I will look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepperpotfrankham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in a 2 BDR for a quick weekend getaway. Beautiful resort - very comfortable and roomy for a family. It was so relaxing to sit near the fireplace and view the bay. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be returning for a stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzetska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
606 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

It all starts at the front desk, where you are greeted well, dealt with promptly, professionally, and in a most welcoming manner ( thanks to Brad and his staff) and it just gets better from there. We had a medium room on the fourth floor with a wonderful lake view, great balcony, fully equipped kitchen, nice living room area with an easy chair and gas fireplace, queen sized bed, decent bathroom with a rain shower and hand held shower, and enough storage space.
The amenities included being directly on a shallow swimming beach, daily maid service if you wanted it, a great fire pit with wood and chairs provided, and a huge number of beach lounge chairs. Oh yes, cookies every day, good ones, and a wine reception one day, soup another. This place is superb and definitely worth the bucks to stay here.
ZB

Room Tip: There is an elevator so higher up gives a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
3.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge

Property: Tamarack Lodge
Address: 2035 US-31 N at Four Mile Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the sugar-sand beaches lining 800 feet of sparkling blue Lake Michigan shoreline, Tamarack Lodge resort hotel suites are consistently rated by guests as one of the best luxury resort hotels on the Traverse City waterfront. Offering unparalleled panoramic views of the bay, this impeccably crafted and elegantly appointed Traverse City resort condominium lodge captures the true Up-North spirit, making it the perfect home-away-from-home to explore the Midwest's premier four-season playground. With its distinctive arts and crafts era architecture, Tamarack Lodge is reminiscent of the grand turn-of-the-century lodges, with careful consideration given to modern comfort and convenience. The one-, two- and three-bedroom condominium residences are thoughtfully appointed with: full-size custom kitchens and laundry facilities; private balconies offering sweeping water views; spa-inspired bathrooms; air-jetted soaking and Jacuzzi tubs; premium linens and towels; gas fireplaces; flat-screen TVs with cable and DVD players; wireless internet; 24-hour front desk staff; and daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Ebookers so you can book your Tamarack Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing