We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timber Ridge RV & Recreation Resort
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great place to take kids, facilities are very clean and lot of activities for the kids. Pool was nice, lodge activities every day. Theme weekends are well planned. Highly recommend for a family vacation, very relaxing for mom and dad when the kids are busy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    8
    13
    5
See reviews for
37
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed for 5 days. Place is very noisy on the weekends. No one enforces quiet time. Bathrooms were not clean. Only 1 toilet in women's bathroom working out of 4. Several people would call but no one would come from the resort. Toilets would overflow with sewer water. If you take a shower on the weekends get there before 9 or you'll be taking a cold shower. Terrible to have to pay for a cold shower. Will not return to this campground. Many other better ones available.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If you plan on staying in a tent bring ear plugs. Night time partying seems to not be enforced. People shooting off fireworks, barking dogs and very loud children.....all at 12-1am. Won't be back ;)
As far as the other parts of the park. You can shower for a few quarters. The bathrooms were not amazing. 2 of 4 toilets stopped up and nasty. Pool seemed nice as well as the kids playground. Still to many bads outweigh the goods.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tribal_Superman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Had a great week here! Lots for kids and family to do. Felt safe with kids running around. Great amenities, though we have RV and didn't use facilities there. Service was great! When I made a mistake on my reservation and had us leaving a day earlier than expected, they went above and beyond to work through it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacinda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandville MI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Spent the night in one of their basic cabins while in the area for the Cherry Capital soccer tournament. It had two rooms, one with a table and benches as well as a bunk bed (double on bottom and twin on top) and the other room with just a bunk bed. It had a ceiling fan as well as a space heater in weather turned cold. Outside we had a grill, fire pit and picnic table.
The bathhouse was across the street and was clean. Showers were $.50 for 5 minutes and the cabin had coins on the table to use in the showers.

Mosquitoes in our area are HUGE and plentiful so we came with lots of bug spray expecting to be eaten up being in a wooded area but NEVER even saw one.

The Grandkids loved the play areas, hiking trails, etc. They would have loved to have been able to use the pool but like a lot so resorts...it doesn't open until Memorial Day.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MarleneFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We are seasoned tent campers, but decided to rent a cabin because we were here for a wedding in October and thought it would be more comfortable and easier to get dressed for a wedding. Our first impression was that the cabin did not whatsoever resemble the description and photos on the website. It was smaller, no stovetop, only slept 3, no loft, and the table and benches were made out of plywood. Since it was only 2 of us and we weren't planning to spend much time in the cabin we thought it was no problem. But as we were getting ready for the wedding, the power kept going out. We couldn't turn the space heater, hairdryer, or microwave on (individually) without having to constantly visit the circuit breaker. I also should mention that the beds are awful, unless you like springs poking you in the back all night. Considering the price off-season was $75 a night, we seriousy wished we had just booked a cheap hotel. At least then we would have power, a tv, a semi-comfortable bed, and maybe even a continental breakfast to boot. Overall, not impressed by the deluxe. Cabin

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelebogile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have a toddler who loved going to the kiddie pool. My husband and I would take him every day. It's about the most innocent fun imaginable. Without fail there was always kids of all ages running around unsupervised. There would be a dozen or more kids and only one or two adults. A rude 7 year old picked on my 2 year old toddler! Another time a kid came right up to me out of the blue and said some offensive stuff. Yes i am tough enough to handle a few mean kids but why aren't the rules enforced? Like the sign that says 14 and under needs to be accompanied by an adult? I've stayed at RV "resorts" where you have to check in at the office every time you use the pool and they want to know if you have guests, kids etc. so this doesn't happen. I guess this is too much effort for Timber Ridge. Not to mention the lack of any security whatsoever. Anyone can drive in this place. In 2011 a guy off the street in a pickup went from site to site to sell firewood. He came to our site multiple times and we kept saying no. A site next to us bought some and he started up a chainsaw - yes a real gas chainsaw - at 10 pm to cut up the wood! My husband had to tell the guy to knock it off and get lost. We have camped here for years. We always thought it would be a great place to take our kid when we had one. We were wrong. And yeah, it's expensive, there are toilets that rock when you sit, no locks on stall doors, the campsites always have lots of litter, cigarette butts, etc. Despite what folks say, there are many sites that aren't nice and shady. We expect more for the price we paid. There are signs everywhere for several years now asking guests to be patient as they improve things. We have yet to figure out what those improvements are. The best part is its location and access to VASA trail.

Room Tip: You can't reserve specific sites so you are at their mercy. But we have talked to local folks wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichiganMom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,064 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
314 reviews
6.6 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge RV & Recreation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge RV & Recreation Resort

Property: Timber Ridge RV & Recreation Resort
Address: 4050 Hammond Rd E, Traverse City, MI 49686-9130
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located next to the Pere Marquette State Forest just minutes from Traverse City, golf, shopping, casinos, beaches, wineries, and many other activities. Large shaded sites and basic and deluxe cabins. Mosquito-free. Family and group activities, games and crafts. Swimming pool, dodgeball, playground, basketball and volleyball courts, and horseshoes. Over 60 kilometers of wooded trails. Camp store and concessions. Available full hook-up. Pull-thru sites, big rig friendly. Banquet/ meeting facility. New seasonal RV area. Available WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing