We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Place Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Knights Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkshore Resort(Traverse City)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
103
196
142
88
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
196
142
88
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeacon loungetop floorgreat locationpiano baran older hotelcorner roomfront streetdowntown tcbit dateddowntown areabed was comfortablebay viewconferencemi
Filter
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a great experience on our weekend stay. We wanted to upgrade our hotel on this trip since we were participating in the Glen Arbor Solstice Half Marathon. We had a corner room in the tower which gave us a wonderful view of the city and bay.

Rooms were very clean and modern. The hotel is old but is well maintained and definitely has character. The staff is very friendly and professional.

Highly recommend drinks in the lounge on the top floor. The view is awesome. Also the restaurant is very good and again the staff is very helpful.

We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room in the tower.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We are pleased that you had a great stay at the hotel and hope that your next visit includes a stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I don't usually write reviews for hotels, as I don't often complain about what we get, but we paid a premium to stay here, and our experience was very disappointing. The location is convenient and views of bay are nice, but accommodations were unsatisfactory. Friends were having wedding a reception here, so we stayed because rooms were blocked off by the couple. First of all, the room we had was so small and poorly laid out, you could not walk past one another in the room without stepping aside for passage. Next the bathroom size and layout was ridiculously small, even just for one person to be in there- no counter space and you were competing with the door to just get in front of the sink. And there wasn't any bathroom ventilation fan so it steamed up with each shower. There was only 1 mirror in the hotel room (the bathroom) and no full length mirror at all. The sliding closet doors kept falling off the tracks and we couldn't get them back on- so it blocked use of the closet. There was no fan control on the HVAC, so it was blowing high at one extreme or the other. Finally, the elevators were extremely slow. In general, the rooms are clean but in need of fixture updates and general room layout improvements.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoomGuest061969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Since the hotel is historic, room size is one feature that cannot be changed. However, we will investigate the other issues and see if we can improve upon those.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I will have to admit I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews but this Hotel was great! We were greeted right away by a friendly worker when checking in. We had bid for this hotel on Priceline ($70) and they said that usually when you bid they give you a Pet friendly room in the older section but because they had openings and we didn't have pets they put us on the 5th floor in the Tower. Nice bright room, very clean. Corner room with views of the Bay. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was a little order but had granite countertops and served its purpose. Room had mini fridge and microwave. Bed was comfortable. The best thing about this hotel was the location. This is the only hotel right downtown Traverse City. All the other hotels you would have to drive to the downtown area so this was perfect for us so that we could walk around, get dinner, walk to the beach and never have to get in our car.

Make sure if you stay here you enjoy a cocktail at the Beacon Bar which is at the top level of the hotel. Gorgeous views of the Bay. They have a great Happy Hour from 5-6. Also a Piano player at night.

For the price we paid we thought it was a great value and will definitely stay here again and we recommend to others. This is not a new modern hotel but is older and has a lot of character.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We are always happy to hear of guest's having a great stay with us and we strive everyday to make those memories for everone. Thank you for your review and hope to see you in the furture.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Have stayed in Traverse City many times, but never at this property before. What a wonderful experience. Check in was great - gave us a larger corner room without us asking. Room was small, but cozy, and all we needed for the two of us. Still had a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. Bathroom was also small, but functional. Only drawback was that we went to Minerva's for breakfast on Memorial Day Monday, and they had already stopped serving at 10:30 a.m. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We appreciate your recent and comments regarding your stay. We hope you can visit the hotel soon and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have stayed at the Park Place many times. I prefer the original part of the hotel which has old world charm. The rooms are beautiful and the Bay view is amazing. I have also stayed in the newer (west) side and enjoyed the spacious room size. Always clean, plenty of towels and if you have any problem at all the front desk staff is right there ready to help. I travel a great deal and always seem to have problems with comfortable beds and at the Park Place I have no complaints at all in this area. I enjoy the Top of the Park Lounge for wonderful drinks and incredible view! Minerva's Restaurant always has a large and varied menu to satisfy the most discriminating tastes. Don't miss the gift shop! The eclectic selection is amazing. The owner is a true gentleman. I have spoken to him many times and truly amazed as he is in his 90's, sharp as a tack and just as sweet as can be. His daughter is cannot do enough to help you and is so gracious.
In the many times I have stayed here I have not had any problems with the staff. They have been courteous, helpful in recommendations for shopping and restaurants, directions, any issues you may have with your stay. The only rough time was with reservations as they just recently updated their reservation department and now are able to keep your profile on file.
This is not a chain hotel. If you want the chain hotel feel this is not for you.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank ejk132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We appreciate your loyalty in being a returning guest and would like to thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return visit very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews