We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two separate hotels”
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Park Place Hotel is two separate hotels in one building. The rooms in the tower are excellent and exactly what you would expect from a downtown hotel charging the prices Park Place Charges. The rooms not in the tower are horrible. They are tiny, dingy, and uncomfortable. The beds are among the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced. Budget motels provide a more comfortable bed for half the price. Oh, and our sink was stopped up. So, if staying in Traverse City and considering the Park Place Hotel, ask about the rooms in the tower. If one isn't available or out of your price range, stay somewhere else. Stay anywhere else. You can get the same type hotel for possibly half the cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

The mattresses in the wing area of the hotel were just recently replaced and the hotel has gotten very favorably comments about them. We are sorry that your experience was not pleasant and we will investigate to see if anything can be done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Overall great trip up to TC hotel location was perfect. Beds were super soft and rooms were clean. Kids loved the pool although the only negative were some ants around the locker room and bench area near the pool. Reasonable price. Cool old hotel. Fairly quiet although my kids were the ones making most of the noise! Staff very friendly and keurig in the room was nice touch.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank motorcitytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

On behalf of the Park Place Hotel, we would like to thank you for your visit and your comments. The Park Place has one of the larger pools in the area and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We just returned from an excellent weekend at the Park Place in Traverse City. The front desk staff was excellent, helpful and friendly. Given our choice of rooms, we looked at one on the 8th floor which would have been very nice, except that they put furniture in front of the windows, so you didn't have access to the view - which was stunning. We opted for a 4th floor room with a balcony so that we could enjoy the sights of downtown and the bay. We had a wonderful dinner in the main dinning room after our arrival the Whitefish Pate and the Duck we both surprising and delicious. I highly recommend them.
I do not understand why they insist on closing the pool area at 10:00 at night. With children playing in there all day, we would have like to have had a quiet dip in the hot-tub and pool at the end our long day exploring, but they close. Perhaps they could extend the hours for adults.
My only other complaint was with the bar on the top floor. It was so tiny that we couldn't spend our last evening up there as we had planned, but instead had to got the bar on the first floor. I had been looking forward to spending our last evening sipping a cocktail and enjoying the view of Traverse Bay, but there was no room at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommyJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your recent weekend here in Traverse City and the Park Place Hotel. We hope that you can visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've been wanting to stay here for 54 years - many family trips and pleasure trips and finally got the chance. I loved the ambiance, 7th floor room was very comfortable, nice view. Didn't go to any of the restaurants in the hotel, however.

Room Tip: It seems like any room would be good, be sure to ask for bay view if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickjags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

While we are glad it was worth the long wait to stay here, we hope that can return to visit us sooner in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Fair rooms, tiny dated bathrooms and poor service. Front desk was mostly abandoned requiring a long wait for service. Restaurant warned us they could not provide breakfast since they had a 'large group', even though we only saw one other couple being served. So we had to return to room, put on our winter gear, dust the snow and ice off our car and drive to find another restaurant. Hardly a full service hotel. Below average, we would have been better off staying at a limited service hotel along the highway and saving the $.

Will not return.

Room Tip: we did not see any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

While the hotel apologizes for the small wait in the restaurant, the guests were offered a table and coffee until they could be served. The hotel always strives to provide the best service possible and will continue to try its best to serve all guests in a timely fashion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel. Right in downtown and you can walk to anything. When I travel to TC this is the only place I stay. Staff is excellent. The hotel is older and you couldn't pay me to get in that elevator so we stay in a newer section of the hotel where I'm not terrifed of the old elevator. There is a bar on the top which is extremely cool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

While the hotel does have a great location, the Park Place strives to provide guests the best possible experience while in Traverse City and hope that you can return to visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in tower suite with great views and had no issues. Room comfortable and well appointed. Very comfortable bed Staff accommodating, enjoyed bar at the top. Location great. Did not have opportunity to try restaurant but banquet meals were above average.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

The Park Place has recently remodeled its entire lobby and upgraded its cable signal to provide a better experience for its guests. We appreciate your stay here and hope that you can return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
407 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 E State St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2517
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: £80 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing