We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old side not as good as the new side” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Old side not as good as the new side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Visited this hotel as part of a convention our room was on the old side of the hotel above the parking area. It was ok, and not like the pictures from the new side of the hotel.

Location -- One block from the center of downtown, and 2 blocks from the beach. With convenient walking to the rest of the city.

Room -- The room was plain and in need of decorations. The bed was comfortable. That's where the good part ends. The shower needed replacing and was peeling. The shower curtain was the curved type and looked dirty. The balcony needed a washing, and the railing was dirty and rusted. Our Kuerig machine was broken also.

Parking -- Plentiful. no issues

Food -- The restaurants on site was excellent and the staff was very nice and helpful

Staff -- No issues they were very nice and helpful

Would I stay there again? Not in the older part of the hotel. Make sure you don't end up on that side its not worth the price.

Room Tip: get a tower room only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    175
    116
    75
    45
See reviews for
78
198
17
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Hudson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Old hotel but very well kept and in a perfect location to walk to everything. Very comfortable beds and very clean the sheets smelled wonderful. Would definately stay here again. Perfect location for winery tours as well which is what we did.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimKSDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Made a one night trip to TC for business and stayed here. Nice rooms, great location and great service. Staff was very nice and restaurants were quite good. Many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I recently hosted my sons rehearsal dinner at the top of the Park at the Park Place Hotel. Every part of the experience from start, to finish was awesome. The sales associate made it very easy and stress free along with his slight accurate recommendations of slight changes which were right on. The view from the top of the park is absolutely breath taking and relaxing. The staff members involved were very polite and totally there to make it a totally stress free and relaxing event. The table settings were great and the food and display of food absolutely wonderful, I think every guest complemented on how great the food tasted. The Park Place Hotel totally top notch on every aspect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel as it has many great features. First, the location can't be beat as you are able to go to the heart of downtown by just stepping out the door and walking a block. The rooms were very nice and included a refrigerator, {although I prefer a firmer bed}. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We also were impressed by their restaurants; plus they have the best view, from their top floor piano bar, for watching the magnificent sunsets.. We are planning a return trip to the Traverse City area, as there is so much to do there, and will be staying at the Park Place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OPTraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We look forward to your upcoming stay, OPTraveler100. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It is very rewarding to be acknowledge for not just the best service that we strive to provide, but to also express the convenience of our location and amenities that abound in our city. Looking forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel with a gorgeous lobby. It's in the center of the Traverse City action with easy walks. The view at the bar on the top floor is breathtaking and not to be missed. The rooms are pretty and the beds comfortable.

However, my room had a gnat problem in the bathroom on the 2 nights I stayed here. Not just a little gnat problem. During the night on both nights I had probably a hundred dead or half dead gnats in my sink, toilet, tub, floor and ledges. I leave my bathroom light on when I travel and perhaps that was some of the problem....but it shouldn't be. I travel a lot and never had this happen before. I did bring it to the front desk and maid's attention and apologies were given to me, but that was all. My bathroom was cleaned in-between the 2 nights, but they came back the second night. I also heard other guests talking about it. So.... it must not be every room, but a note of caution. As much as you pay to stay here, I wish they'd figure out what the deal is. I'm going back next weekend, but will not be staying here. One star knocked off for the gnats....otherwise, would have been a 5.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ariel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Ariel W, Thank you very much for your honest comments about your stay and experience. I agree, you should not have had to encounter gnats. It was very embarrassing for me and my staff. Please trust, it was an anomaly. We called in our exterminator and I believe we have corrected the problem and it should not reoccur. I hope you will provide us with another opportunity to make it right. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Great location, very close to lots of shopping and restaurants. Rooms were very nice, clean, but on the smaller side. On site restaurant was very good! There a very cute gift shop in the lobby with antiques, old books, and just cute stuff. It was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you, bamaya for sharing your experience. I am glad you had a very nice stay and look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Property: Park Place Hotel
Address: 300 E State St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2517
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing