We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Excellent price with many good amenities like a hot breakfast of real scrambled eggs , sausage, potatoes , fruit , oatmeal, etc. The pool and whirlpool were larger than most motels . The rooms were clean and well taken care of by maid service . Staff was very friendly and cordial with free cookies at the front desk .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tal1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    338
    99
    33
    16
See reviews for
460
426
27
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grayling, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The staff is great, the rooms are bright and clean. Great night sleep. This hotel is close to everything. Any questions I had about the area the staff quickly answered. The breakfast was yummy! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calkinsjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poplar, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived and found staff helpful and offered us a cookie what a treat. All staff helped with questions about laundry facilities, places to visit in the community, wifi.
We also enjoyed the pool it actually was comfortable water temps, clean and refreshing!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbicu715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very nice property and exceptional staff members. All staff members were friendly, made you feel good and were very attentive to my needs. I stayed here for work, it was a 2 month stay, and I enjoyed this place every night. Breakfast was one of the best I have seen on the road for this type of hotels. My room was really clean and newly refurbished. Bed was comfortable for me. This hotel also had a nice indoor pool area, and a gym with nice equipment. I would return to this hotel again if I work in Travese City again.

Room Tip: Stay in the upper floor rooms they seem to be quiter from people walking in the hall ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Staff made us feel like our comfort was their number one priority. General Manager was great. I advised they we booked at this hotel based on reviews we read online and he was impresses and even upgraded our room since hotel was not booked up in the middle of the week. mattress and pillows were so comfortable...best sleep I have had in months. need to know what brand they are. Only a couple little things could make this hotel even better. One the sign out front needs to be bigger because we drove right past this small print sign and two the doors and door frames need some attention so they don't bring down the impress of the condition of the hotel. Don't pass this hotel up. The pleasant staff will go out of their way to make your stay a great one.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms require that you go outside to get to the lobby and breakfast so make sure ask if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel was recently bought by Country Inn (it was a Day's Inn) and completely refurbished. We got a suite at a very reasonable price which included 2 queen size beds in the bedroom and an additional Murphy Bed (which we didn't use.) So there's plenty of room for a family. There are full kitchen facilities if you need them. Also, in addition to the full bath in the living room, there's an additional sink in the bedroom. Everything was spacious and clean. My daughter was happy with the exercise equipment and pool looked nice. There was a good breakfast, which in addition to the usual CI&S breakfast that includes packaged yogurt, had plain fresh yogurt with berries (probably frozen, but good) and granola that could be added to it. Pastries included fresh muffins. Service was friendly and helpful. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: If you want the space or like to eat in, get the suite. It was a great deal using cash + points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spellboundmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had some problems with our room keys on various occasions. The staff handled it beautifully and even brought our kids some treats. Also, front desk staff helped me find something to do with our kids on a rainy afternoon. GREAT customer service. We were very happy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyInMotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkbtcmi, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites for your stay in Traverse City. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay! Nothing pleases us more than satisfied guests! I'm very please to hear the front desk staff was proactive in helping you with any room key issues you had. Looking forward to seeing you in the future! Thank you again, and have a great day!

Sarah Amman
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.1 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing