We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Inn & Suites Traverse City MI Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Middleton Mi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Country Inn & Suites Traverse City MI Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This property was at one time the Days Inn & Suites. This property was changed over to a Country Inn & Suites this summer. All the rooms have been updated--new furniture, carpet etc. The breakfast was been expanded and they offer a real nice hot breakfast. The property is second to none. The rooms are very clean. The front desk personnel are real friendly and knowledgable. This really is a super place to stay.

Room Tip: I usually stay on the south end. There are two rooms which you can drive right up to your door (outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    339
    99
    34
    17
See reviews for
463
428
29
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

There are a lot of expensive hotels in Traverse City that I'm sure are nice (but are too far out of my budget). There are also some budget-friendlier hotels in Traverse City that I've stayed at that are abysmally dirty, loud, and uncooperative. So I wasn't sure what to expect THIS trip when we booked the Country Inn- would it be the same? I am so glad it's not the case! This hotel was clean, the staff was very warm and very quick at their jobs (the line to check in moved very fast), and there was only a noise issue through the door to the adjoining room and a bit with the plumbing, but not the walls. Breakfast in the morning was a bit of a traffic nightmare, with so many people shunted through a small circular space, and only one of the doors was open so it felt claustrophobic, but it was overall a good trip and we'll probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenkinkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booked the room to stay one night for a wedding. Asked for an early check-in and they a were very accommodating. We checked in around the same time as check-out. Check in was speedy and the room was ideal. Customer Service was fantastic. Instead of turning us away when the computer indicated the room was not ready, they called housekeeping to see when it would be ready. I truly appreciated the ability to get ready for the wedding in the hotel....Thank you. We will return..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have stayed at this Days Inn twice now. The first time was about eleven years ago and then again this passed week end. I was not impressed or not impressed with the place. The beds were okay. The floor in the room was wood and I wore my socks all the time. can't say I would return for more than a quick night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank 832toddb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The interior of this hotel has been completely remodeled. The rooms are fresh and modern. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bed linens are crisp and comfy. The towels are surprisingly soft. The breakfast is outstanding. This hotel was a very pleasant surprise and a good value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kdeg9278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 2 days with another couple. We checked in on a Thursday and left on a Saturday. We were greeted by friendly and helpful front desk. They actually offer delicious fresh baked chocolate chip cookies while checking in.

Our room was clean and updated with a flat screen TV and bathroom was clean and also updated. As soon as we entered the room, we received a call asking if everything was OK. I thought that was a great gesture from the hotel to make sure it was to our liking. The bed was comfortable with only one complaint, the pillows were very uncomfortable. The same complaint came from our friends also.

They had complimentary breakfast in the lobby area that was very good. There was a wide variety of food that was worth going up for seconds. Once they closed most of the area they had breakfast, they still kept the carafes of coffee out for anytime you wanted it.

The pool area was clean and the pool and Jacuzzi was worth taking your suit for.

If you decide to stay, you won't be disappointed and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNJeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for three days. Our wonderful experience began with check-in where the young man could not have been nicer or more efficient. We were offered fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. Within a half hour of check-in the young man called to check if everything was satisfactory and whether we needed anything extra like towels or pillows. Unbelievable! The room had very modern furniture and decor and was exceptionally clean. The whole place looks either new or very recently remodeled throughout. Their pool area looks brand new. It was well maintained and the water was comfortable and crystal clear. They had the largest hot tub I have ever seen, It holds 13 people, but we always had it to ourselves. The temperature was divine and all the jets worked - which is a rare exception in my opinion. The breakfast was the highlight of our stay. Rarely do you find such diversity of offerings, including several healthy options, which are hard to find elsewhere. All the staff, including housekeeping and kitchen staff, were always very pleasant and accommodating. The best part was a great price for the value and quality we experienced. We will make a point to search for this hotel chain in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canoe4770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing