We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to see the Sleeping Bear Dunes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place was wonderful! The staff was excellent! They gave you coffee and cookies when you checked in and also, once we were in the room for about 5-10 min., they called up to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. The breakfast was great also! They have scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, and all kinds of other breakfast food. It is even pet friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchr0xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,350 - 1,356 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites in Traverse City for 3 nights. It was an outstanding stay. Check-in was easy and our room was ready. We had one of the few standard rooms in the suite building (room 430). It was a large room that included a large refrigerator and a microwave. There was a large desk and the queen sized bed and pillows were very comfortable.

We did have several issues during our stay. We noticed that the toilet had a slow leak and was filling every 5 to 10 minutes. We called the front desk and they sent up a maintenance person and he was there within minutes. He worked on it for about 10 minutes and we both agreed that it seemed fixed. Well after several usages that evening it started leaking and filling every 10 minutes. I ended up shutting off the water to the toilet until it was needed that night.

The next morning we notified them about it still being an issue and about the AC/Heater unit not working right. They sent someone up while we were eating breakfast and they were still messing with it when we left for the day. Later that afternoon we got a call from the staff saying that it was a major issue and that they would have to move us to another room when we returned. When we got back they gave us a choice of rooms and asked if we needed help moving. We declined since it was only a few doors down from the old room. We ended up in room 425. It took us about 20 minutes to move and get situated. The front desk called and asked if the room was okay and it was excellent.

Later that night and then the next morning we were not able to get Internet in that building. I went down and showed the staff that it was an issue with their wireless and the said they would reset it which they did. I went back to the room and 10 minutes later they called asking me to see if it was working and it was.

Yes I had issues but the great thing with the Country Inn was the staff. They were friendly and responded to the issues rapidly, with concern, and a smile. They were truly concerned about getting things right and truly wanted to make sure that I was happy. That is outstanding service. Things will happen. I just ask that the staff work to make it right. Great job to all the Country Inn staff.

Breakfast was included and they have a nice breakfast area with plenty of seating. They have juices, milk, tea, water, coffee, and hot chocolate. They have the normal cereals, bagels, and Danishes. They also have the hot bar that included eggs, sausage, potatoes and a special item (French toast, biscuits and gravy, or tortillas) on different days. They also have two waffle makers where you can make your own waffles. The hard thing with buffets is that some things are cold. I didn’t like the potatoes because they were cold. I did run the French toast through the toaster to warm them up and that did help. It is a good breakfast and an easy way to start the day.

Check-out was fast and friendly. It was an enjoyable experience. They did an excellent job and we would stay here again and recommend it to our friends as well. Great job.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stargazerm31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is outstanding! The room was large, clean, and an excellent value (it was a suite with a queen in the master bedroom, a jacuzzi tub, and a fireplace, and a Murphy bed in the living room / dining room area). We were thrilled with the cleanliness! Ryan at the front desk was amazingly helpful - providing us with a map of Traverse City and recommending activities and websites for us to make our stay enjoyable. He also called our room about 10 minutes after check-in to make sure everything in the room met our expectations. The pool was great! Overall a wonderful stay! We will definitely be back! Top
notch all the way around!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robb-and-Brandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very clean and friendly place. Quick access to downtown, TART trail, beaches, restaurants and main roads. Room is spotless, towels are ample and fluffy, toiletries are nice and housekeeping is excellent. Room temp easily controlled. Grounds crew works constantly to keep things looking fresh. Service is outstanding, friendly and exceptionally helpful. We are bikers and so are they!! They knew the TART trail and could explain a few of the tricky turns. One of our bikes had a malfunction and the man at the front desk immediately offered to help fix it. A part had fallen off, so he sent us to a bike shop (a mile away), where the repair was completed instantly and at no charge! We were back on the road in no time. The breakfast was nicer than usual and was hot and well stocked. We really felt at home here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel was recently gutted and fully rebuilt into a new Country Inns and Suites. Everything is perfect-brand-new-clean-and-shiny. Staff obviously takes a lot of pride in this new hotel and are very gracious. We stayed in a "family suite" with very large front room with couch, table, microwave and fridge and a queen sized Murphy bed. Separate bedroom had two nice queen beds. Mattresses, like everything else, are brand new and very comfortable Good quality toiletries and linens. Decent breakfast, better than most mid-priced chains. Pool is immaculate and large enough for lap swimming and the hot tub, unlike those at many hotels, was actually nicely hot. You would have to pay a lot more to get this nice of a hotel anywhere else in TC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

we stayed the weekend of may 16-18....the hotel is newly redone and very nice.....very clean!!!! the staff is wonderful....lots of people there on that weekend and we never had to wait in line (check in/out), they were very nice and always with a smile on their face......even every time we asked for a free cookie :0)
there was a good selection for breakfast and was always restocked quickly....with seating inside and outside in their courtyard.
there are food restaurants close by and a state park with beach/water/beautiful views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adriana0Portage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the Bayshore Run, 2014. The hotel was clean and appeared to be in the process of updating the property. The lobby was nice, clean and new. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and nice-we had a Murphy bed! Some of the hotel furniture was a little old and outdated, but nothing obscene. Our room had 1 small bathroom and small kitchenette area and an additional sink in the separate bedroom. The gym area is dated, but functional. I would stay here again nice area-a little dated of a hotel but who stays in their hotel more than to sleep?

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jewels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £70 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing