We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to downtown but room was not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Close to downtown but room was not great”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in a Queen Suite room with the spa bath and we were immediately unimpressed. The room has a weird smell to it when we walked in, the carpet seemed dirty and there were hairs and dirt in the spa bath. I was most looking forward to the spa bath and the hairs were stuck in the filter thing and then were floating in the water, I could not bring myself to get in it.

The breakfast was nice and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkbtcmi, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites for your stay in Traverse City. I'm truly sorry about the condition of the hot tub in your room, this is not something that is normal for us. I asure you we are going through every spa and cleaning them thoughly. We do this on a regular basis. I hope you will visit us again so we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    339
    99
    34
    17
See reviews for
463
428
29
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
327 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel used to be the days inn. A couple of months ago, they switched from days inn to country inn. Other than a new sign, I'm not sure much has changed. Rooms don't appear to be any different. Breakfast might be an improvement. They do have a pretty good breakfast which goes from 6:30 to 10 AM.. Also, free coffee all day and night.
Looks like a newly renovated lobby which is quite nice.
My room was fine, but the walls don't provide much insulation. Or maybe I just had some noisy neighbors one night. I would probably stay there again, but check the price of similar hotels, many of which are within walking distance. Location is along motel row on Munson avenue

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Breakfast is excellent, rooms are spacious and very clean. For someone who is picky on where she stays, we will definitely visit again. Great location, minutes from downtown, across the street from the bay, near great area restaurants and close to wineries. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony. Rm. 333. Our friends were in the adjacent rooms and it seemed like it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nicely renovated! We stayed for a girls weekend and were very impressed by the friendliness of the front desk staff as well as the amenities. The room was very spacious & the murphy bed is a great idea as opposed to a pull out couch! The beds including the murphy were very comfortable. The hot breakfast was better than a lot of other places I've stayed, and included waffles, scrambled eggs, pastries yogurt, cereal etc. It was great that it's served until 10 am, so you don't have to get up first thing if you want something to eat. It's also a great bonus that the pool has an adult-only time from 10:30 pm - midnight and the fitness centre is 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissassm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If my room was as clean and updated at the lobby or as tidy as the grounds, then I could give this place a better rating. Toilet didn't flush. Room key didn't work most of the time. Door was very hard to open. Room was dark, dingy and smelled like a cheap motel room. This place isn't cheap. AC quit working during the night. Check in wasn't a good experience but check out was fine and the pleasant clerk took a few dollars off for the inconveniences. Breakfast seems to be the big thing at this place and it's packed on weekends. Get there early. This place claims to be in the top four of TC hotel/motels. In their dreams I am sure it is. When reality sets in, it's quite average and severely overpriced. Only stayed one night and moved to a different motel that offered far more spacious, modern, clean, bright rooms and amenities for less. Traverse City is a wonderful place to visit but don't spoil it by staying here unless your only requirement is a decent breakfast and a clean lobby.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very dark, dingy, smelly with faulty mechanicals. Check out your room before you chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corunna, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is in an area surrounded with so much to do and see. And we love being so close to the water and downtown. We had our whole family come up for this our grandaughter's graduation. We were able to have rooms next to each other.

Room Tip: Be specific what you want, they have the room to accomodate you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Awesome hotel, newly redone.. Great breakfast!! Very good deal! Staff was great, even got cookies when checking in!! Everything was very clean, shower had great water pressure, which can be poor in other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacobJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing