We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome great hotel and staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am traveling with my elderly parents (Name: DeMayer) and teen son. Hotel is beautiful, immaculately clean, and the staff is over the top helpful. Made reservation directly with the hotel requesting first floor to accommodate elderly parents. When we arrived, everything as was requested and front desk staff was extremely welcoming. The facilities are very inviting and the staff makes it a point to ask frequently if they can help with anything. Every request was met with a smile and eagerness to please. 100% positive stay and highly recommend.

Room Tip: There are no good or bad rooms - they are all great!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,245 - 1,251 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were driving down the west coast of Lake Michigan and were walk-in customers to this hotel. I had previously written down a few hotels in the area based on reviews from TripAdvisor and stopped here. The front desk told me that they were previously a Days Inn but wanted to upgrade their brand. They gave us what I believe was a fair price for a one bedroom suite and were even able to provide us with a handicap accessible room since my dad struggles with walking. There are two separate buildings at this hotel - the main building has the standard rooms and the building across from it has the suites and workout room. The suites appear to have been recently renovated and ours was very spacious. There was a separate bedroom and a living room with a couch, table & chairs, refrig, microwave, sink and murphy bed. I was skeptical of the murphy bed but it was actually comfortable. It was lower than a normal bed but queen sized. Pros of hotel - most areas appear recently updated - at least in the lobby and suite rooms, great breakfast, good price. Cons - it's on the south side of the main road through TC so there is no lake view or beach area like some hotels have in the area; while the rooms smelled fine, there was an odd smell in the hallways of the building we were in.

We were happy with our stay and would stay there again. However, if I could find a good price, I would first try to stay at one of the hotels on the lake with a beach.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed overnight at the Country Inns & Suites in Traverse City, MI. The facility had previously been another brand of hotel, so it did not have the warm feeling that is usually found in a County Inns & Suites with the rocking chairs on the veranda, etc. Our room was on the ground floor and was spacious and clean. There was a smoking area nearby, and, unfortunately, some of the smokers congregated under our window smoking and talking from time to time. It wasn't often enough to be a great problem, but it did happen. The breakfast was fine, except for the eggs which had a strange consistency. For a hotel in a resort town, this seemed pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the smoking areas.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MDTravelers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staff is great, very polite and professional. They go out of their way to make your stay feel like home. Room are big and very clean and beautiful. Breakfast is better than going out to a restaurant, and amenities are super.

Room Tip: I stay at this hotel everytime I am in Traverse City. It is the best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed in a family suite, huge, comfortable couldn't be happier with our choice. Lots of room space ( 2 closets one in living area and large one in separate bedroom) safe in room at no extra charge.). Beds were great, plenty of pillows. In room thermostat controlled heat/air that worked quietly and well. WiFi worked well and was easy to access anywhere in the suite.
Breakfast was more than expected. Staff eager to please, always cleaning, restocking and making sure guest have a great experience. Large pool with time slot for adults only. Nice outdoor area to relax between the pool and breakfast area. Ask for a second floor suite for maximum quiet, never heard any traffic noise or other guest. Good location. Check in and out was effortless. Plenty of easy parking. Great value got a nice suite for the price of most standard rooms in the area.

Room Tip: Get a suite, very comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoTravelers-OntheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here in the fall and just had the best time! It was such a clean, quiet hotel. We LOVED the huge indoor pool and the great breakfasts in the morning. The office is open 24/7 unlike several other hotels in the area, which is great. Pet friendly also another perk! The office staff was amazing, housekeeping was phenomenal, and the grounds are really taken care of. The pride in the hotel really shows and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We enjoyed our 2 nights at this hotel. We stayed in a family suite, which was absolutely huge! The beds were very comfortable, the rooms clean, and the breakfast was good. Staff was very friendly. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City

Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686-6003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: £65 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully situated between the east and west branches of Grand Traverse Bay, Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Traverse City places guests a mile from gorgeous beaches and a bustling downtown. Our Traverse City hotel is just a quick drive to more than 150 inland lakes and rivers. Ride a bicycle down the 10.5-mile TART trail, enjoy views along the Grand Traverse Bay shoreline, visit local parks or enjoy a delicious meal at any one of the numerous restaurants downtown Traverse City. Relax on the beach, catch a boat tour, take the kids to the Great Lakes Children's Museum or catch a show at the State Theater. And of course, if you're here in early July, don't miss the world-famous National Cherry Festival! Northern Michigan really does have it all and at Country Inn & Suites - Traverse City, you are minutes away from Old Mission Wineries, Downtown restaurants and breweries, Sleeping Bear National Park, Moomer's Ice Cream and so much more! Any given weekend you could be just around the corner from the fun and excitement of a festival or celebration. When you're done exploring the area, you can refresh with a dip in our oversized heated indoor swimming pool, relax your muscles in our large hot tub, our simply sit back and enjoy a book from our 'Read it & Return It' Library while lounging in our beautiful courtyard. For anyone looking to stay active, check out our 24-hour fitness center complete with treadmills, climbers, free weights and pre-core machines. Country Inn and Suites -Traverse City also offers cable TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, fax and copy services, guest laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar, same day valet service, complimentary USA Today Newspapers and fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing